We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent quality and value for money”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bluebell Croft

Newly decorated properties in a natural setting. Wonderful wild flowers throughout the year.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Newly decorated properties in a natural setting. Wonderful wild flowers throughout the year.
Elevated hillside position, with stunning scenic views and superbly situated luxury hot-tub Stunning mountain views in a rural retreat, beautiful and cosy in Winter
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Newly decorated properties in a natural setting. Wonderful wild flowers throughout the year.
Elevated hillside position, with stunning scenic views and superbly situated luxury hot-tub
Stunning mountain views in a rural retreat, beautiful and cosy in Winter
Autumn view of the mountains behind the property
Superb views from the patio and hot-tub whatever the weather.
Giant hot-tub with magnificent views over the glen to mountains. In use year round
Well equipped kitchen, designed so the cook can socialise too! Aga and conventional cooker
View from Honeysuckle House lounge
Plenty of comfy, spacious seating, beside the wood-burning stove
The huge oak dining table seats 10-12 easily and can accommodate 16
The large dining table can seat up to 16 people. We are able to host small weddings up to 40 guests
View across the lounge to the sunroom
The sunroom has access to the hot-tub. The perfect place to relax with activities for all the family
The childrens room has bunk beds and may be a twin or double room
The bedrooms are spacious and some may be either twin or zip and lock super king-size
Rose Cottage exterior
The downstairs, wheelchair accessible bedroom leads onto a patio overlooking the mountains
The lounge and dining area viewed from the stairs
Cosy living room with patio doors to the hot-tub
Looking down from the upstairs bedroom
Living room with lots of comfy seating
Compact and well equipped kitchen
Open plan kitchen, dining area and lounge
Everything you need in the compact kitchen- Neff induction hob, cooker, dishwasher and microwave
Light and airy downstairs bedroom leading to private patio
En-suite wheelchair accessible wetroom
Grab rails, loo raiser and shower chair available
The ever changing mountain scenery. Here is a view in November
The private garden and patio outside Rose Cottage. BBQ available and shed for bikes.
We keep Castlemilk Moorit rare breed sheep
Our friendly ewes may feed from your hand.
We have chickens, ducks and geese. Here are some of our Bresse Galloise cockerels.
The Ariundle oak woods are a short walk from the door.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Strontian, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Laura M
Oban, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent quality and value for money”
Reviewed 3 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Bluebell Croft was very well equipped for large parties with everything we needed (and more) to cater for a party of 11, cooking on site. When joined together, it feels like one large property, with the additional space of two (extra sitting room etc). Chris and Chrissie were very welcoming and let my pre-5 old gather eggs on the croft for breakfast. The hot tub went down a storm with all of us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Mar 2014
We are so happy to hear that you all had a great time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golda28
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Couldn't have hoped for a better place to stay”
Reviewed 27 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I have just returned from a weekend break at Bluebell croft with 8 of my friends and I have to say that this is one of the nicest and most original places that I've ever stayed. We rented out both Honeysuckle house and Rose cottage and there was more than enough room to accommodate everyone. Each couple even had their own en-suite bathroom! The accommodation is kept to an extremely high standard, everything was clean and the views are remarkable.

For me, the best part was probably the hot tub which has to boast one of the best views in Europe. Chris and Chrissie were extremely helpful from booking right until we left. We were welcomed with a batch of homemade scones, jam & bread which didn't last very long. The kitchen is extremely well stocked, better than my own, with plenty of pots, pans, utensils and dishes. There is a dishwasher if you're feeling lazy and the Aga is slightly intimidating welcome addition.

I could have stayed in the shower all day and the water pressure if lovely! The beautiful log fire was another lovely addition and there was plenty of wood to keep it constantly hot.

I honestly can't think of a criticism! My only warning would be to make sure you allow yourself plenty of time to get there. The last ferry across is at 9.20pm and if you miss it, you're toast! I would think that this makes an excellent place to say for everyone, not just large groups, although it is great to have the whole place to yourselves.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2014
We are very happy that you all had a great weekend
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dave11don...
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have just spent a great week at Bluebell Croft with 6 of our friends. Chris and Chrissy were excellent hosts. Arrived to a ready made casserole in the oven with homemade scones and jam. The house was spotlessly clean, with 4 well proportioned bedrooms. Kitchen is large and well kitted out. Also a large open plan living room. Bit of a steep road up to the house but made for lovely views across the valley. Great hot tub to ease away the pains after a good walk, of which there are many around Strontian. The hot tub is shared with a smaller adjoining property, which was not a problem for us. Walk is about 15-20 min into Strontian where there are a couple of small hotels which serve good food, a tourist information, a small cafe and supermarket. Would recommend the wildlife tour on the isle of mull and Sanna beach is a must. The sun, white sands and blue sea was just like the caribbean, until you stepped into the water.
The only negative would be the casserole, which although lovely was pricey. A great holiday.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethany C
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Such an amazing time!”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

We just spent a long weekend at bluebell croft for a friends birthday and just had the most amazing time! Unbeatable hospitality from Bill and Sukie, and great advice from Bill on what to do and see. Arrived to a truely delicious cassorole waiting for us in the oven and hot scones. Got most of food from them also and ate like kings the whole weekend! The scenery and natural beauty of the place was stunning, and the hot tub was a happy bonus! Will definately be back! Thanks Bill and Sukie x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$428
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing