We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heaven on your doorstep”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Island View

The beach in front of the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The beach in front of the house
The bungalow The double room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
45 reviews
The beach in front of the house
The bungalow
The double room
The twin room
The living room
The kitchen
The view from the porch
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Isle of Jura, Argyll and Bute, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Martin W
Cossall, United Kingdom
1 review
“Heaven on your doorstep”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

great location, comfortable and roomy, well equiped with everything you need. Felt at home as soon as we arrived. If you like being close to wildlife whilst being not too far (easily walkable distance) from the pub this is the place for you. Also great village shop, well stocked and not overpriced.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: television in lounge a little small for size of the room.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Hello Martin

Just to let you know that we have now fitted a bigger television in the living room. Thank you for your feedback and review - it is much appreciated. I'm glad that you enjoyed your stay at Island View.

Kind regards

Annie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda B
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic place to relax & chill out!”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Recently returned from a wonderfully relaxing stay at "Island View" on the remote but beautiful Isle of Jura. A lovely holiday home with spacious rooms, cosy log burner (which we enjoyed on one rainy afternoon), well equipped kitchen, comfortable beds and the most stunning views from the lounge - we even saw deer on the beach one evening! Loved the decking area at the back of the property where we could relax & enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. Wifi was a welcome extra. The shop, hotel & other amenties were only a short walk away. A real paradise for nature lovers and walkers - with deer, seals, otters, oyster catchers and lots of other wildlife in abundance. A great place to just relax and chill out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, stunning views, log burner and comfortable bed
Liked least: Nothing - it was all great!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Susieq197...
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Idyllic Island”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We recently had the pleasure of staying at 'Island View' on the beautiful Isle of Jura. Situated in Craighouse, it is a lovely rental property, beautifully decorated throughout as well as feeling welcoming and homely. The owners were very helpful and accommodating, making the booking very easy and hassle free.
Being a family of five it had the all important feeling of space and not being on top of each other. Having two bathrooms definitely helped! The children had a choice of a bunk room or being in single beds. The jewel in the crown is the view of the sea/beach from the living room, which is a stones throw from the bungalow! The property has all the mod cons and there are plenty of DVDs, games and books for rainy days. It also has sky tv and WiFi!

The back garden is spacious with a decking area to sit down and relax. Our children loved being able to run across the road to the beach, as well as being able to pop down the road to the local park. They also loved looking out for the local wildlife - esp the famous island deer or seal spotting. There are plenty of places, such as the Paps, for hikers. We tried the Jura distillary tour and thoroughly enjoyed that. You have the choice of the hotel or cafe if you wanted to eat out (although we did not get the chance to try) and a local shop for all the basic necessities (although, would recommend shopping on Islay before getting to Jura for a more comprehensive shop)
I would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone wanting to enjoy a stay on this beautiful island.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful views.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brian S
Hurst Green, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“And to think ... we nearly never made it!”
Reviewed 3 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Due to a late decision by us to add Jura to our walking itinerary in a week that was half term and a holiday week in much of the UK, we were struggling to find somewhere to stay. Annie came to our rescue thanks to a late cancellation. What a stroke of luck a) to find somewhere and b) for it to be Island View! Annie could not have been more helpful during our email interchanges as we struggled to make the logistics work. Thanks to her we made it. So glad we did! Island View was ideal for us.It was spotlessly clean and deceptively spacious with two shower/bathrooms, good sized bedrooms, a large well fitted kitchen and a cosy sitting room (we particularly appreciated the wood burning stove after a day scrambling about on the Paps of Jura). Island View is ideally situated, as other reviewers have remarked, with lovely sea views and being in easy walking distance of the shop, the local hostelry and the distillery! It is also an ideal base from which to explore the island. All in all we had a great but all too short stay. We look forward to returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The attentive owner. Modern bathrooms, cosy sitting room. Location
Liked least: We weren't there long enough.
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cathy M
Woking, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An ideally located clean and spacious house with wonderful views”
Reviewed 8 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our first visit to Jura and we struck gold with this gem of a place to stay!

Island View is a very spacious bungalow with two modern clean bathrooms, a very well equipped kitchen and a cosy lounge with wood burner. The bungalow is 15 minutes walk from Craighouse and the jetty (if coming from Tayvallich) so ideal for us as we were traveling on foot. Easy to find, right on the shore with beautiful sea views from the lounge. You can hail the local bus from the road outside or there is plenty of space to park if you have a car. Wifi and Sky TV were a bonus, along with plenty of magazines for bad weather days - although luckily we didn't have any of those!

Annie was lovely to deal with and very efficient, as well as being flexible in allowing us to book just three nights rather than a full week, whereas other cottages had said no. Having said that, we'd have happily stayed a whole week and explored more of the stunning wild rugged Jura landscapes and beautiful beaches. Our trip this time took in Islay and Colonsay too, but Jura and Island View was our favourite part of the holiday and we will most definitely be back to stay at some point in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: I honestly can't think of anything - all good!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing