We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room 1 Living room 2
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Living room 1
Living room 2
Living room 3
Living room 4
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
Kitchen 1
Kitchen 2
Kitchen view
Dining 1
Dining 2
Upper shower room - disabled access
Upper shower room
Blue Candle
Fluffy robe
Towel and soap
Welcome!
Garden
Suntrap deck overlooks the harbour
Attractive deck
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Tarbert, Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Derbyshir...
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Little Gem”
Reviewed 16 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Tigh Gorm .John the owner met us with a very warm welcome and gave us all the information that we needed to make our holiday very special.The house is immaculate and every need has been catered for.One could not wish for a more comfortable place to stay. Needless to say we will be back .Thanks John .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David P
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great base for exploring Harris”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We received a warm welcome from John when we arrived after a long days travelling. The cottage is very well equipped with everything you would need for a comfortable stay. Sadly the weather didn't allow us to enjoy the garden but didn't spoil our holiday. Highlights included Luskentyre and Northton where we saw eagles passing food.
We were very impressed with the quality of the accommodation and the attention to detail shown by the owners.
Road can become very busy at ferry times but you just need to be aware of that.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astmar
Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 27 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in Tigh Gorm for 4 nights in October 2014. We were greeted by John, the owner at the door and were made very welcome. He explained everything clearly in the house and gave us plenty of ideas for days out and how to enjoy the local facilities.

The Blue House is perfect for two. It is spacious, modern and well equipped in every way. There are touches of luxury with good toiletries, bathrobes and comfortable furnishings.

The location is great as a base for exploring the Hebrides. We had a wonderful time staying there and even though we had horizontal rain and the hurricane Gonzales for two days, the house provided a warm and cozy shelter from the raging storm. On our last day we were able to enjoy the patio in partial sun and calm weather.

Tarbert has a a butcher selling excellent meat and groceries can be bought for everyday needs there.

Our only regret was having to leave a day early due to adverse weather forecast threatening our crossing to the mainland.

I would recommend Tigh Gorm to anyone looking for a comfortable, stylish base in the Hebrides.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McTufty
Nairn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Our expectations were high........”
Reviewed 19 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

..... as this is at the higher end of our desired price range, but we were both impressed and delighted with Tigh Gorm. A lovely warm welcome from John, who gave us lots of ideas and information, then left us to settle in. Spacious.... spotless..... a lot of thought has gone into creating this wonderful wee place.
The layout works well, nice open top floor and cooler bedroom downstairs, with underfloor heating in the en-suite - I really enjoyed trying out the lovely hair and body products.
From the website, I feared the colours and decor may be a bit too 'cool', but warm plaids on the sofa cosied things up, the place warmed up quickly and we were even allowed to light a candle - that's never happened before!
Good selection of guide books and maps, gentle strolling distance to Hotel Hebrides and the Harris Hotel (both good for a meal) and one afternoon we enjoyed a late lunch on the decking in the autumn sunshine. There is the occasional car passing the front door, so don't expect full silence, you are in a (very quiet) village.
This is perfect for a couple and a really good base for exploring the island, we wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Luxury bathroom products and lovely clear drinking water.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sigligwt
Roman Bridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Every thing to make our holiday a success.”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

A very comfortable, well furnished and well equipped house. Good location in Tarbert with two hotels and an Inn, two small supermarkets one licensed with a good butchers. John and Patricia had provided everything to make our stay on this beautiful Island memorable and left us wanting more.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$140
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing