We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all, not the greatest”
Review of Taste of India

Taste of India
Ranked #30 of 42 Restaurants in Portree
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 3 May 2018

If you are expecting fine dining you'll be disappointed. However, the food is good, there is a lot of it, and it is much better than the other Indian restaurant in the town, Prince of India in terms of flavour and quality. Good value for money. As we are both vegan, the staff was very helpful in finding suitable options for the both of us, which was much appreciated.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MarikaE95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (487)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

55 - 59 of 487 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2018

While the food itself tasted fine, it was the staff that made us feel quite uncomfortable. It seemed that the staff tried a little too hard to make it seem like they were interested in our backgrounds, but it only came off offensive when they began to probe about where we were from and tried to greet us in Mandarin, when we clearly spoke English to them. Some of the waiters seemed confused when we simply asked for more water and would hover over our table without talking, staring at us. If they intended to make us feel as awkward as possible, they achieved it. At the end, we went up to the front counter to pay, and we felt like we were being pushed and rushed to leave. We did not feel welcomed from the start, the staff came off ignorant and arrogant, the food is way overpriced, and we would not wish to dine at this place again next time we visit Portree.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank april23993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

On holiday in Portree and fancied a curry so dropped in here. Our pakora starter was fine and enjoyed the mint dip. However, both our mains were really not enjoyable at all. The vegetable biryani was tasteless even although we added extra salt and pepper. The portion of korma sauce on the side was very small and also tasteless. Our other dish was vegetables and Indian cheese. It was very very poor. The onions were barely cooked and were hard and there was hardly any cheese. The dish had little flavour and no heat to it. I would not recommend this restaurant, they seriously need to consider the quality of the kitchen staff.

Date of visit: April 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CheekyMcDonald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018 via mobile

Came here for dinner on an overnighter in Portree. When we came in at first the restaurant was empty, but quickly filled up. The food was excellent and very reasonably priced, especially when compared to the other restaurants in Portree. I recommend the Peshwari Chicken and the garlic and cheese naan

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank 639stuartc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2018 via mobile

A bit out the way as it is upstairs head for the co-op and it’s across the road. The meal was excellent and the staff were helpful and made you feel relaxed overall a nice meal

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank Mrhappy1012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Taste of India also viewed

Portree, Isle of Skye
Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Portree, Isle of Skye
Portree, Isle of Skye
 
Portree, Isle of Skye
Portree, Isle of Skye
 

Been to Taste of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing