We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“excellent accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Cedar

The Cedar(the middle house of the green block).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cedar(the middle house of the green block).
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The Cedar(the middle house of the green block).
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
lynn m
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent accomodation”
Reviewed 22 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017

The location is amazing the view from a windows was fantastic took the wife and kids up for a break after christmas and it was fantastic .Comfy beds everything you need including washing machine and dryer . sauna was a bonus . Everything nearby will certainly be back soon . would highly recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grh1981
Darlington
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“October road trip”
Reviewed 6 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
3
people found this review helpful

our main destination on a road trip form County Durham to Skye - booked the cedar following trip advisor reviews and we were not disappointed. You can't ask for a better location views of the sea from three rooms just beautiful ! All you could need form a self catering cottage comfy beds and sufficient heating. Initially worried about parking as on the pier but always a space for us. Washer dryer and a sauna! unfortunately whirlpool bath out of action for our stay but didn't really miss it as two showers. I would defo stay again and recommend to family/friends. lovely chippy next door and Chinese / pizza take away local. The only suggestion I would have is for new settees - bit uncomfortable after a while if your having a DVD marathon but on the whole brill stay also fab communications with the owner and hassle free checkin/out

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter R
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant stay a the Cedar”
Reviewed 26 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The stay we had at the Cedar was brilliant. This is a great base form which to tour the Island.
The view from the cottage was fantastic and to wake up in the morning to those views of the harbour, unbelievable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The locatoin
Liked least: can't think of anything major
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slakdaddy
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A wonderful, Peaceful retreat amongst the most amazing scenery.”
Reviewed 20 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

3 nights at The Cedars in Portree was the perfect to unwind and get creative. Very well equipped and immaculately clean. We made great use of the sauna which was fantastic after some long scenic walks.
What a great place to wake up to seagulls and the lap of the waves on the quay.
Thank you so much for fitting us in.
We'd love to return.xx

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael M
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tip Top and Ship Shape”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Just discovered this place on TA...my last visit is here was almost 2 years ago - the previous one being 12 years ago ! but I would come back tomorrow if i could. I've done a lot of self-catering in my time and The Cedar is definitely "Champions League" material. Excellently equipped , and possibly the best location in Portree. The prices are fair , almost to a fault. Pity there aren't more places like this. Absolutely recommendable. If it's available book it ! Don't hesitate !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, the kitchen, the bathrooms and the bedrooms
Liked least: The seating in the living room was a bit uncomfortable ,
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing