We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (102)
Filter reviews
102 results
Traveller rating
74
16
10
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
74
16
10
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmarmalademodern hotelfresh fruit and pastriessister hotelpeaceful retreatcozy atmospherenice toiletriessuperior roomfantastic hotelshort walk into towntwo night stayother hotelsgreat roomconvenient locationlarge roomour honeymoontea and coffee
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 102 reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2018

Room too hot due to heated mirror that could not be turned off. Good breakfast, but very expensive especially due to sleep deprivation, as windows only opened a little. Also, my wife was embarassed into giving a gratuity when paying the bill, when we had only stayed a night and eaten breakfast. Would not re-visit.

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Snapnish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2018 via mobile

Had a very enjoyable stay in Skye at the Marmalade Hotel.
The hotel is small but offered very comfortable accommodation and a very friendly, relaxed atmosphere. Five minutes walk from the centre of Portree it was ideally placed.
All the staff were very helpful and welcoming.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Graham0658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Top ratings to the Marmalade Hotel! Our room was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The staff, especially Susan at reception, went out of their way to help us find local sights and area recommendations. The view from the back of the hotel (and from our window..room 4) was spectacular! I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ebloch523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

I recently stayed here with my wife during our Scotland excursion from the States. We started our journey in Edinburgh and worked our way up to Skye. The hotel is conveniently located in Portree, the largest town area in Skye. We had a rental car for this leg of our trip and had only moderate difficulty finding the location without the aid of GPS or our phones, which were disabled. The hotel staff were all incredibly nice. My wife wasn't feeling too great by this point in our trip and the woman at the front desk went out of her way to accommodate us and make our stay as comfortable as possible. The room was compact but upscale and clean. There is free WiFi and parking. We didn't utilize the dining area but the room-service food was great and presented nicely. Dining options are limited in Portree and can get overwhelmed by visitors, so plan accordingly. The hotel has a very nice outdoor area with some impressive views.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tyler H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this boutique hotel just outside of the City Centre for two nights and loved it!
The staff was really friendly and helpful. Our room was small but very modern and comfortable. The bathroom had heated mirrors and the best shower we’ve encountered in Scotland. The bed was large and really comfortable.
Both the breakfast and dinner we had in the restaurant were superb; steak was moist and had a nice charbroiled flavor.
Really enjoyed our stay and would recommend to others!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nory B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews