We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect get away”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ellen's Bothy

Bothy with the Quiraing behind
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bothy with the Quiraing behind
Living area Woodburner.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Bothy with the Quiraing behind
Living area
Woodburner.
Kitchen/living area with dining table.
Cosy dinner for two.
Tea and biscuits!
Bedroom
Outside bothy
Bothy from side with view to the sea (10 min walk to bay)
The Quiraing in summer
Sunset over the Quiraing
The Quiraing in winter
My dog on Staffin Bay!
Staffin Bay with views to Torridon
The neighbours
Sunset over the Outer Isles from Rubha Hunish (northern tip of Skye)
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Portree, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Jenny W
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect get away”
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had the most wonderful week. The location is perfect for exploring the island
, theres a beach a 10min stroll away and fantastic views of the Quirang. Ellen left us a wonderful welcome package: hot choc, shortbread, proper coffee even biscuits for the dog! There were maps and attraction leaflets to help us decide how to spend our time and there was plenty of fuel for the log burning stove (great to dry out soggy walking boots); also very romantic.

Ellen made everything really easy, if we're ever back on Skye i know where were staying :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location & view
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JudithAAs...
Hurworth-on-Tees, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful find!”
Reviewed 26 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous location - 10 minute stroll to Staffin Bay. Great views all around the bothy & wonderful for dogs as the garden is enclosed.
The bothy is extremely homely & the welcome pack of coffee, milk, biscuits, etc was such a kind touch. The wood burner is a real feature & Ellen had given us a good supply of fuel. The additional touch of bits of driftwood, lovely pebbles, etc as part of the decor are great.
We used it as a base to walk & tour the island & it was perfect.
I cannot recommend it more highly; if you want to get away, relax, be cosy & have a great base to enjoy Skye, Ellen's Bothy is for you!

We will be back. Thank you, Ellen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wood burning stove & the location.
Liked least: The bed creaks a bit when someone turns over.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noor A
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“I've found my happy place!”
Reviewed 19 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Cannot even begin to recommend Ellen's Bothy enough! On my first trip to the Isle of Skye with my partner we had the most amazing visit. The Bothy was immaculately clean and comfortable and you could tell how attentive Ellen is by the little notes and treats she'd left us. It is well situated, close to the Quiraing, Kilt Rock and the Old Man of Storr - which were all on our must-see list. I was incredibly sad to leave the Bothy after such a great visit. We will hopefully be back - sooner rather than later!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Feb 2015
Hi Noor, thank you so much for taking the time to post your lovely review. I am happy that you and your partner had a lovely cosy romantic time there! I hope to see you again in the future. All the best, Ellen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quicksilv...
Icklesham
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Wow! What a gem!”
Reviewed 19 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

The bothy is a real gem! So cosy, comfortable and welcoming. It's Furnished with all mod cons but it has also retained all of its traditional features and it allows you to fully immerse yourself in the stunning surroundings. Situated in a beautiful part of Skye II would strongly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2014
Hi, thank you so you so much for your great review. I am happy that you enjoyed the bothy and everything the area has to offer. Best wishes, Ellen.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James H
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quirky, warm & cosy”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ellen's Bothy is great, the welcome pack was very welcoming, the location for walking the Quiraing, and man of Storr was excellent, Staffin slipway walk was easy to do, with a fantastic dinosaur beach.
When the stove was lit in the bothy, curtains closed and glass of whiskey in hand, heaven
thanks Ellen for a great week.
Frances & Peter

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location and cleanliness of property
Liked least: two days drive from our house!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing