We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Location”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Anchorage

The best place to be!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The best place to be!
The Anchorage - right on the water's edge in Skye Always something interesting passing by. This is the Hebridean Princess luxury cruise ship.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
The best place to be!
The Anchorage - right on the water's edge in Skye
Always something interesting passing by. This is the Hebridean Princess luxury cruise ship.
Always dramatic!
Fishing boats always passing
Otters on the rocks by the house
Wonderful summer days on Skye
The small fishing harbour is just 30 seconds walk away.
Otters by the house
Castle Moil is a nice half hour round walk from the house- just beware the tide!
Aga cooking at its best!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Kyleakin, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
KittyHG2
Harrogate
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
Reviewed 1 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012

This was our first trip to Skye, and what a find!
The location is 5 star. The sun lounge looks out over the Skye bridge, and every evening we enjoyed the beautiful sunset, glass in hand!
The cottage is extremely well equipped with everything one could possibly need for a comfortable stay. I LOVED the Aga!
The owner communicated perfectly ( we made a very last- minute booking), and everything went without a hitch.
However, for a house intended for two couples, the fact that there is only one bathroom / loo, and a rather unsatisfactory electric shower, loses the property one star.
Also, although the beds are very comfy, with lovely pillows, sparkling clean linen etc, they are rather short! My boyfriend is 6ft 3, and, as both beds have wooden 'feet' made for troublesome sleeping. We resorted to sleeping separately, so that he could sprawl diagonally!
Don't let this minor point put anyone off, however, because apart from those two points, the property is just lovely., and I highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sun lounge
Liked least: The bath room
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 May 2012
Hi Liz - many thanks for your review and comments - all noted, although its a shame we "lost a star" for only having one bathroom when it is actually advertised as a 2 bed, 1 bath house! do please come again some day by which time we will no doubt have changed the shower! Kind regards, Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
S P
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“great location, relaxing stay”
Reviewed 20 April 2012 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

This is my second visit to the Anchorage and I can recommend it without hesitation.

Perfectly well equipped, outstanding views across the Kyle and very professional, responsive owner. The clear indications of their own family use give the place a very friendly atmosphere, without being over-personalised, and I think the extras this provides (games, books and kitchen bits & bobs) are a positive bonus.

Lovely little garden, with the added benefit of a sea gate leading onto a small rocky outcrop where you can happily have your sundowner or sit with a steaming cuppa and watch the night sky as the waves lap contentedly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Aga and sun lounge
Liked least: parking space
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael S
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in July 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2018
Thanks for your kind words Michael. For the benefit of anyone reading your review I have translated it below:
A beautifully equipped and first class holiday home directly on the water. The equipment is high quality and everything is very clean. The communication from Richard was excellent. Feedback was always very prompt. With this equipment and the location quite a pearl among the holiday accommodations. We recommend.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARI l
1 review
Reviewed 25 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: La vue
Travelling group: En famille avec adolescent(s)
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Thank you for your review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Anchorage. I have translated your review below and I trust this is accurate!:
After spending a week at The Anchorage, we are delighted with this rental. We highly recommend to visit island of Skye and its surroundings. With a little patience, we have seen repeatedly seals right under our windows. The cottage is cozy and nicely decorated with all amenities nearby. The explanations given by the owner are comprehensive and detailed.
Frankly if we return to this beautiful country, we will return surely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bo1965
Munich
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014
Google Translation

Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Jun 2014
Thanks so much for your review Bobo and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the Anchorage. Please feel free to come back in the future.
Kind regards, Richard.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing