We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect place”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Sandpiper

Sandpiper from the front
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Sandpiper from the front
View from the washing line.... looking towards the  lounge View from cottage at low tide
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
Sandpiper from the front
View from the washing line.... looking towards the  lounge
View from cottage at low tide
Evening light at Sandpiper (A Scott)
Bridge to Skye Same hill just further away.
Twin beds can be made into super king bed if you request this when booking.
Looking across Broadford bay, Sandpiper is right in the middle, on the edge of the bay
Sometimes boats are launched in the bay, from the nearby boat yard.
View across to Broadford from Sandpiper
Entrance porch.
Many beautiful sunsets from here
Cosy lounge, full legnth windows on 3 sides, and wood burning stove.
Another view of the lounge
Large family kitchen there is also a utility room ,with washer and dryer
another view of the kitchen
Hallway
entrance porch
from the back of the cottage with log store.
Large driveway
Double bedroom .Low windows so you can watch the wildlife without leaving your bed!
Twin bedroom, overlooking the sea.
Bathroom 1 with overhead shower.
Wild flower meadow to the rear or the cottage.
deer sightings are common,here's one in the back garden at 11.am.usually evenings are the best
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Broadford, Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
WillieJJ
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Perfect place”
Reviewed 25 December 2013 for a stay in July 2013
3
people found this review helpful

The cottage is beautiful and in the most wonderful setting on the shore. We found it hard to go to bed as we spent hours every night sitting in front of the picture window watching the sun sinking behind the hills with the light on the water changing minute by minute. My recommendation is to add copious quantities of whisky and enjoy at your leisure.

Otherwise the cottage is splendidly appointed and very comfortable. The hosts are attentive and work hard to ensure a pleasant stay. Broadford is well placed to explore Skye, but still close enough to the bridge to make Lochaber and Wester Ross accessible.

We enjoyed a very comfortable stay here

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2013
Thank you very much , we are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.We are lucky that we get such interesting light and the ever changing scenery.I wish I had a few more photographic skills to capitalise on the views.
We will have to give serious consideration to your suggestion about the whisky !!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PAULINE B
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 14 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Our stay at Sandpiper was the perfect Skye holiday. It's in a quiet location in the hamlet of Waterloo but with shops and restaurants close by (about a mile). I don't think I have ever stayed in such a well equipped and thought out holiday cottage. It is very modern but has a very traditional feel. We were able to totally relax and enjoy the delights of Skye and the Highlands.
The views from the cottage were stunning and the windows cleverly designed to maximise viewing . Being situated right on the shoreline there was always plenty of wildlife to see and the owners have thoughtfully provided books and binoculars to help visitors identify and enjoy the wildlife. You can even enjoy the views from your bed!
The property itself is fabulous, warm very well designed with colours complementing the views. The beds are really comfortable and the bathrooms spacious and modern .
My favourite part of the cottage was the huge kitchen which seemed to contain everything you could ever need. Our evenings were spent relaxing around the large dining table. The weather was very mild when we were there and so didn't get the opportunity to make use of the wood burning stove.......may be next time. I fell in love with this place There will definitely be a next time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fabulous kitchen/diner ..perfect for long relaxed meals.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2013
Thank you for,your very kind words.This was our first year as a holiday let and so many of our guests have commented about the wonderful views. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArwenHert...
Herts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An absolute gem!”
Reviewed 22 September 2013 for a stay in August 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Sandpiper cottage is a new build holiday cottage in Waterloo, Isle of Skye. It is situated on the shoreline and offers amazing views over Broadford Bay. The cottage is beautifully decorated with a sea/beach theme throughout in shades of blue/grey. The cosy lounge has a wood burner,a comfy leather suite and 3 large windows to enjoy the views. With 2 large bedrooms, two bathrooms and a good sized, well equipped utility room, it's just perfect!
The piece de resistance however is the huge kitchen/dining room, beautifully decorated and fully kitted out.
We had the most relaxing holiday here, everything has been well thought out and we will definitely be visiting again!
Location is great, very quiet but close to shops/restaurants in Broadford and about 15mins drive to the Skye Bridge and Kyle of Lochalsh.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and decor/furnishings
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2013
Thank you for your kind comments.All our guests seem to love the kitchen.We are really glad you enjoyed yourselves,and would be delighted to welcome you back some time.
Gill
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$202
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing