We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Our 4th visit to An Taigh Clach - Amazing...”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Living area and multi fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Living area and multi fuel stove
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Well equipped kitchen
Hallway to bedrooms and shower room
Shower room
Twin room
Double bedroom
Garden & utility shed
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
msw3569
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our 4th visit to An Taigh Clach - Amazing Xmas/New Year break!!!”
Reviewed 14 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

our 4th visit to An Taigh Clach - the other have all been in the summer months - it is genuinley the perfect 'home away from home'
everything you need from a self catering property, immaculate, very well appointed and ideally positioned on the island close to Callanish Standing Stones and Carloway Broch with outstanding pristine beaches on your doorstep
having been visiting the island since 2002 we have found the perfect property to base ourselves for our annual visit(s)
we cannot recommend An Taigh Clach highly enough!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: leaving... :(
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A location never to tire of.”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This was our 5th visit to "The Stonehouse" and our delight of being there has never diminished. We have now been at times covering all seasons and each has it's highlights. We had fantastic weather in November, and in fact Lewis was the warmest place in the UK during our week. The late autumn sunsets were spectacular and the chillier nights just made the peat fire and a wee dram all the more inviting. Val, Callum and Murdo are most welcoming and we are beginning to feel like part of the family now!!
Already looking forward to our next visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and Quiet
Liked least: Nothing at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
R F
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful and cozy home to stay in on Lewis”
Reviewed 20 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed at An Taigh Clach with my husband's parents, in order to take advantage of being close to the Callanish standing stones and other great locations around the island. The house was absolutely wonderful and very welcoming. The baked goodies and lamb were very much appreciated and devoured very quickly. The kitchen was so well stocked with anything you could need in terms of appliances and utensils and the bedrooms were very cozy.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jax68688
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We have just returned from a wonderful stay at An Taigh Clach. The cottage is gorgeous, really cosy for an autumn stay and very well equipped. It was the perfect place to come back to relax after a day spent walking in the wet and windy weather. Val is a very welcoming host and the goodies that awaited us on our arrival were delicious and very much appreciated. Our little dog was also made to feel very welcome. We couldn't have asked for anything more.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline...
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A truly comfortable, relaxing and pleasurable stay in the stone house. The cottage is well appointed. The kitchen is really well stocked with all the utensils and baking stuff you'll need. Valerie gave us a warm welcome and gave us useful tips for trips . The home baking, crab claws, peanut tablet and mugs were lovely touches. As we're the fresh flowers, the plentiful supply of DVDs and CDs. We enjoyed spending time hanging out in the cottage enjoying the views. Recommend going to Dalmore and Uig beaches, the black houses, 40 North, Morven art gallery and visiting the weaver Norman Mackenzie.
We left truly refreshed and would definitely recommend cottage to friends and family. 10 out of 10!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole place
Liked least: Was fab
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing