We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely house in a stunning location”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Living area and multi fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Living area and multi fuel stove
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Well equipped kitchen
Hallway to bedrooms and shower room
Shower room
Twin room
Double bedroom
Garden & utility shed
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kelly750
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely house in a stunning location”
Reviewed 11 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

Myself and a group of friends stayed in the property for a week in the beginning of April. The house was located in a stunning location with amazing views that I loved waking up to each morning. The owners were very hospitable and couldn't have done anything more to make sure our stay was perfect. We were even able to go and see their new born lambs and cattle during our stay.

The house was ideally situated to enable us to go on walks around the headland and access the nearby beach of Dalmor and the various attractions such as the Carloway Broch and the Standing Stones. In the evenings we found the house great for relaxing by the log burner, drinking wine and watching the sun go down over the stunning scenery outside.

I will definitely be returning- hopefully in the near future!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The stunning scenery and location of the property
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Euan1001
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed 10 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013

The property is in a great location with stunning views of the surrounding countryside. It is spacious, well finished and is in immaculate condition. It is simply the best self catering accommodation I have ever enjoyed.

Well positioned to some of the best attractions Lewis has to offer such as the standing stones of Callanish, Broch, or Blackhouse village.

The owners made us feel so welcome that that it really felt like a home away from home. If going to Lewis this is the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The great views and peaceful location
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IslaDonag...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Just Perfect”
Reviewed 29 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012

We have just returned home from our stay at An Taigh Clach and are already planning our next visit!

The cottage is just beautiful with every home comfort imaginable. The extras provided by Valerie and family really added to the warm and homely feel.
When we arrived to the fire burning, a dram of whiskey and beautiful home baking (Val's empire biscuits are the stuff dreams are made of...) we knew we were in for a relaxing stay.
After seeing An Taigh Clach's website we had high hopes for the accommodation but I can honestly say it surpassed all expectations. We found the cottage to be slightly bigger than expected, our party were 3 adults & a 6 month old baby and we never once felt we were under each others feet!

The cottage is located in Carloway which, in our eyes, was a perfect base to do sightseeing etc. The incredible beaches are just minutes away, as are the Gearrannan Black Houses.
The fact of knowing we were returning to such comfort and luxury made the day trips all the more enjoyable.

We honestly could not think of a single thing we would change or could have been improved on.
Can't wait to be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Every single thing we possibly need was there. Also the homebaking, welcoming whiskey, meat and wine
Liked least: not applicable, loved everything
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PGWRipon
Ripon
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fabulous Scottish hospitality on the Isle of Lewis”
Reviewed 18 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

We have recently returned home from a wonderful two week long, family holiday on the Isle of Lewis. We arrived at 10pm to An Taigh Clach and were given such a warm welcome from Callum and Val, who had the log fire burning, wine chilling and a lovely selection of freshly made cakes. The accommodation was of a very high standard and the amenities in the kitchen were so carefully considered, leaving us feeling very much at home. The freezer full of locally reared lamb was a real treat as we chose to eat in each evening and the children were really excited to try out the fresh crab claws which Val cooked for us during the second week. Callum and Val were on hand to give us local interest advice which was great as this was our first trip to Lewis. Although the weather was mixed, we were able to get out and about every day and visited almost every beach on the islands of Lewis and Harris! Our dog came on this holiday with us and loved her holiday house too! Thank you so much Callum and Val and hope to visit again soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Lovely accomodation
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing