We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A seamless blend of stunning scenery and...”

Review of An Taigh Clach

'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area Living area and multi fuel stove
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
112 reviews
'An Taigh Clach' (The Stone House), where you are assured of a warm welcome
180' panorama from the living area
Living area and multi fuel stove
Multifuel stove + a wee dram
Well equipped kitchen
Hallway to bedrooms and shower room
Shower room
Twin room
Double bedroom
Garden & utility shed
Peat - aromatic burning on a cool evening
Peat cutting - back breaking work but worth the effort
Sunset over Garenin - next stop America!
Kite surfing on a long summer's day
Doune Carloway Broch - 2 miles from 'An Taigh Clach'
Wild flowers
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Carloway, Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 112 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Kayos101
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A seamless blend of stunning scenery and exceptional hospitality”
Reviewed 9 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

After a long journey the delights of An Taigh Clach and it's owners could not be more welcoming. Warm peat fire , home baking,a bottle of wine and a wee dram waiting for you, who could ask for more?
The facilities offered are exceptional, a high spec kitchen with all mod cons and some very thoughtful touches such as fresh flowers and local bath products. This really is a home from home and the owners provide everything you could need for a wonderful stay.
We also travelled with our grown up son and the flat screen tv and wifi connection were also a great asset! We loved it so much we have already booked for next year!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The thoughtful touches and warmth and friendliness of the owners
Liked least: having to go home!
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan B
Houston, Texas
1 review
“Excellent all round: Beautiful well-equipped accommodation; fascinating place”
Reviewed 6 July 2012 for a stay in June 2012

We only got to stay four full days plus two partial days at "An Taigh Clach", but the entire experience was great. The house commands extraordinary views of the surrounding countryside on all sides; it is also very fully equipped for self-catering. Every detail has been thought through; there is even a flashlight / torch in a box in the parking area in case you find yourself in darkness trying to pick your way up and down the steps to the house (which is very unlikely since the electric lighting outside is more than adequate). A peat and wood burning stove throws out lots of heat when needed, but you won't want to spend a lot of your time indoors, because the most inspiring element of all is the surrounding countryside. We could only scratch the surface of all the interesting places and activities on offer on the Isle of Lewis. Warmly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of accommodation; amazing setting
Liked least: Wi-fi was intermittently unavailable for no obvious reason
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fiona j
langban
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The thoughtful blend of the old and the new in wonderful remote hebridean island is matched only by the welcome given”
Reviewed 15 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

As a seasoned hebridean traveller since childhood I am used to the colours, the sounds, the views and the peat fires. This cottage offers a very sympathetic renovation maintaining the original character with modern comforts. It is high spec. The area has a lot of history both ancient and modern and reading up beforehand is recommended. Centrally situated and acceassible to Lewis and Harris.
There are a lot of traditional music CDs and a dram.
Suitable for all outdoor enthusiasts - teenagers might need a little coaxing away from the computer - don't they always?
You can be sure of a warm welcome from Valerie - with some tasty delicacies.
Down side? None - provided you know what remote means.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qu0tha
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“exceeded expectations”
Reviewed 23 February 2012 for a stay in February 2012

My partner and I visited the Isle of Lewis for the first time and wanted to rent a cottage for our stay. We considered a number of other places but the reviews on this site encouraged us to choose an taigh clach. We chose wisely. The place is warm , comfortable and very well appointed. We had five days of peace and tranquility with every facility we could want, and more we didn't expect. The heated towel rail makes the bathroom super cosy. Not that the rest of the house isn't. The views were superb from the many windows in the large lounge. The location is also excellent for nearby sights, but is also excellent for a feeling of isolation. The single track road leading from the village of carloway back to stornoway is utterly bleak but at the same utterly magical.

Val was attentive and helpful throughout and even made the unusually kind offer of giving us an additional day free of charge should our flight have been cancelled by bad weather. The steaks included for us were some of the best we've ever tasted. The kitchen facilities were better than we have at home. I am finding it hard to think of anything that went wrong. We fully intend to return and can't recommend the place and our reception highly enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and comfort from the lounge
Liked least: I'm struggling with this
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DunnP322
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful , comfortable base for a fantastic holiday.”
Reviewed 4 January 2012 for a stay in June 2011

We went to the Outer Hebrides for the first time and, even though it was summer, we wanted somewhere confortable, warm and welcoming. This beautiful croft met all of our needs and we were pleasantly surprised by the extensive welcome pack of home baking, whiskey and wine. We also had a free delivery of freshly cooked and very tasty crab claws, from the owner, during the week.
This place is highly recommended by us, as are the Western Isles. We are definitely thinking about going back this year, it was so good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was very well equipped and comfortable.
Liked least: I can't think of anything.
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing