We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
31
23
9
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
23
9
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild campingsand dunesstunning locationwashing facilitieshot watergreat campingport morport charlotteworking farmwell equipped kitchenper nightcampsiterulestentmidgescottagekettle
Filter
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 24 October 2014

The view as you come into the campsite is spectacular, and we had very high hopes about our stay at Kintra Farm.

Overview:
- High price - we wish we had just free camped.

- NO drinking water available. To repeat: NO drinking water available. Just one kettle to boil water for ~200 people. With an ominous sign warning of poisoning if you don't use it.

- ONE SHOWER for ~ 100 people. It's a converted toilet cubicle, next to the only two toilet cubicles available for all the guys at the site. Expect to be 2 feet from people taking their morning dump, a wonderful soundtrack creating a pungent miasma and wretch inducing aroma. (after 4 nights rough camping all we wanted was a hot shower and some water...)

- RIDICULOUS SIGNS - Signs telling you off for nothing, creating an atmosphere like you just weren't wanted there. Signs like "WASHING YOUR HANDS INCURS FEE OF 50P PER FIRST HALF HOUR BETWEEN 9AM AND 2PM. £1 THEREAFTER".

- RIDICULOUS SIGNS - I cannot express enough how stupid the signs are. Very League of Gentlemen.

- Very poor facilities. Not much flat land to camp. Everyone staying there was talking about how bad the facilities were.

- We arrived, and the owner drove up to us and ushered us into the reception. The price was very high, and and although we are 4 people in our mid 20s he was extremely condescending. Teaching us our left and right and explaining where we could camp precisely.

Great views - but you can get these up the road camping for free.

Very strange place, and the facilities are not worth paying for.

I do not recommend camping at Kintra Farm.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
8  Thank msa216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

This campsite is situated in a lovely location on the beach, and with even the most basic and usual facilities this would undoubtedly be a five star review. Frustratingly, the location is an undoubted draw for people visiting Islay, so I suspect the owners have little incentive to improve the site.

I feel most of the - even negative - reviews on this page are rather forgiving - I have never stayed in a campsite in the UK with such poor facilities, given the price (which was expensive). We stayed as part of a cycling trip, after many nights wild camping, looking forward to a hot shower and a bit of comfort...we might as well have pitched up and not paid (I don't condone this).

My gripe with the drinking water issue is not the basic fact that there was none, it was that we were not told this by the cantakerous man who took our money when we were arrived, who was more interested in shouting at us to remember our left from right when pitching up.

We subsequently discovered that the water was undrinkable unless boiled from the absurd collection of aggressively worded signs plastered in the facilities block ('50p for 15 minutes hand-washing' was a personal surreal favourite). I think that failing to explicitly point out that the water on the site requires boiling is not only deceptive, it's also irresponsible!

There were two showers and three toilets for a very large site.

Those with large amounts of clobber, cars and camper vans, might find boiling water before drinking it to not be a problem, in which case stay here if you don't mind qeueing for showers and toilets. If you're on a lighter trip, hiking or on bikes and hence not carrying stoves, don't bother with this place - camp a mile or two down the beach and save ten quid. Drinking water is one of the few reasons I occasionally bother with a campsite!

Frustratingly, this place could be idyllic - instead, it's annoying. To the owners, if you're still reading - the changes that this place needs are very basic. Stop ripping people off.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
5  Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We just returned from 3 nights at Kintra Farm campsite. This is a beautiful campsite where you can pitch your tent on dunes overlooking the beach. This is not "glamping", but great camping. We bought a bag of wood and some peat and built a fire on the beach. The facilities are basic. The site was not super busy so we didn't have problems showering or using the toilets. I think in high season this could be a problem. There is also a fridge available, which we found useful.
I would definitely go back.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank onthemovemom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

You need to understand what you want from a camping loaction before you commit to staying here. This is a fantastic place with just the best views and you really feel away from it all. This is just what we love, but if you want flat fields with kids facilities, go elsewhere!
I don't agree with other comments that there are lots of notices and too much to take in, I think the owners are just trying to help! The owners are also not grumpy at all, they were very helpful and nice when we met them.
Our only bad part was nothing to do with the campsite, it was just that due to the bad weather an our tent coming to the end of it's life we had to leave sooner that we would have liked.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank PamandIain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed in one of the self catering cottages cost over £700, it was not worth the money! Charged a 5 star price for a 2/3 star place. Teeny kitchen, towels not supplied and had to pay extra for electricity. Owners very poor attitude.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews