We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (83)
Filter reviews
83 results
Traveller rating
31
23
9
11
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
23
9
11
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswild campingsand dunesstunning locationwashing facilitieshot watergreat campingport morport charlotteworking farmwell equipped kitchenper nightcampsiterulestentmidgescottagekettle
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 83 reviews
Reviewed 8 July 2014

If I was reviewing the location and view it would be a five star, wow!
Right by the beach overlooking the bay it's very idyllic and peaceful.
Just be prepared for the midges!

The facilities let the site down. 1 shower per gender and the water supply comes from a bore hole so needs boiled before consumption. Lots and lots of notices and bits of paper in "reception" to read before booking in.

The road from the site in to Port Ellen is about 2 miles so if you have no car/bike be it'll be a long walk.

We would stay here again for the view but possibly elsewhere for use of facilities.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RandR2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

If you are considering staying at Kintra Farm, be aware you need to to take your own drinking water. The water on site is Bore water, so drinkable but you are advised to boil it. We played safe and bought bottled water from the co-op.
The facilities are basic, and they could do with more showers, one for each sex isn't enough. The owner is formidable and compared to other sites you don't get much for your money.
I will admit that I was overwhelmed by the number of notices which distracted me from the door bell.
It is in a stunning location, I just felt the need to mention the water situation.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Eva-vdub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2013

So....can't really argue with most of the other reviewers, but.....
There are two campsites on Islay; Kintra Farm, which is wild camping in amongst sand dunes just above a 7km sandy beach amidst wildlife of all sorts, but with basic shower, toilet facilities etc, or the other one near Port Charlotte, which is basically camping on a football pitch in neat rows, but with toilets, showers, a cafe, kids play park, and walking distance into Port Charlotte. If you want to go to sleep with the sound of breakers outside your tent, or have a campfire on the beach with a few drams as sun goes down, it has to be Kintra. All of the other Naysayers below would have been happier at the other campsite, I feel- its horses for courses.....
Personally, I can live with basic (and by basic I mean clean and working) facilities in order to sit in my tent and look out over Loch in'dall as the sun goes down. Sure, they could build more facilities, but then wouldn't it be nice to have a car park too, and then maybe get rid of the tent site and build a nice hotel and, and........
I wouldn't have it any other way ( including collating the information on the walls when it's raining!)

Room Tip: Pitches next to the beach are great, but a bit iffy when the wind gets up, the pitches in more sheltered areas are safer in the wind, but have a tendency to attract the midges on lighter days...consider your pitch long and hard! (Oh, and just because most pitches are kept short with a mower, the owners told me that I could camp wherever I wanted in the site, so if all the good pitches are taken, just go onto the longer grass..
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Bagshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013 via mobile

Great position in the dunes, marred by the multitude of officious notices (information overload and some out of date) and attitude of owners wife. Facilities are basic and for the size of site inadequate (1 male and female shower).

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

What a place! As I was arriving later my girlfriend had to set up camp. Our host was very helpful and allowed us to register the next day after showing Christine the rules etc.
Perfect spot right on the beach with a good breeze to keep the midge at bay.
Access to the shower/toilets is 24hrs as is the hot water, a kettle, laundry and a couple of fridges makes up the remainder of the amenities - basic but all you need.
Had a blether with both the Owner and his wife, perfectly pleasant and chatty - don't know what the issue is with some of the other reviews - maybe they found them on a bad day?
A gem of a campsite with stunning views - perfect!

Room Tip: Chose your tent pitch wisely - you want the breeze on your face to keep the midge at bay
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GMcL69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews