We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Stay”

Review of Barwheys

Barwheys - Grand Dining Hall in the Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Barwheys - Grand Dining Hall in the Farmhouse
Barwheys Barwheys - Beautiful fireplace in the Grand Dining Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
Barwheys - Grand Dining Hall in the Farmhouse
Barwheys
Barwheys - Beautiful fireplace in the Grand Dining Hall
Barwheys - Beautiful 'honeymoon suite' in the Byre
Barwheys - Stylish kitchens
Barwheys - Luxurious en-suite bathrooms
Barwheys - in the beautiful Ayrshire countryside
Barwheys - Flat screen TV
Barwheys - Stylish bedrooms all with en-suite bathrooms
Barwheys - Stylish bedrooms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
8 Bedrooms, 12 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Maybole, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SStraiton
1 review
“Fantastic Stay”
Reviewed 3 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at Barwheys for a family celebration, and had an absolutely fantastic weekend! Barwheys is a stunning destination and from the moment we arrived, we all felt we had made an excellent choice!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Jul 2015
Thank you so much for your kind comments! We are really delighted you had a great time here at Barwheys and we do hope that you visit us again.

Kind regards

The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billypadd...
Dumbarton, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Far exceeded my expectations!!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in February 2015

I booked all 3 houses at Barwheys for a surprise birthday weekend for my wife's 60th. I'm really fussy about accommodation so my brother and I had a preview visit where we were shown around by Clare. Impressive or what!! All 3 houses were furnished to an extremely high standard, both in terms of soft furnishings as well as kitchen/bathroom fittings. All bedrooms are ensuite and beds were made into doubles. As a group of 16, we cooked and ate in the main house which had a table for, rather conveniently, 16 guests. Although the weather was sunny, we benefited from the log burning fire in the main room in the evening, which had an ample supply of logs nearby. We hired caterers for the Saturday night (Dalduff caterers). Awesome food in an awesome setting!! Those who stayed until the Monday were treated to a tour of the cheesemaking facility on site. Fabulous cheese!!

We can be a particularly choosy bunch of people but I can safely say that I never heard one criticism about Barwheys all weekend. We'll be back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The high quality of the fixtures and fittings and the locale.
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Apr 2015
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments.

We are delighted you all enjoyed your time at Barwheys and that your wife enjoyed her birthday celebrations. We do work very hard to maintain out 5 star rating and its always lovely to hear it pays off.

It was a pleasure to have you all here - we are looking forward to your return!

Kind regards

The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LOLS171
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wish my house was like this!”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Stayed with friends. 3 family groups so we had a house each. We were in the right hand house - luxurious accom , tasteful decor throughout, beautiful bathrooms - it was like a boutique hotel but in a quaint refurbished cottage with lots of original features. Kitchen very high end with appliances and everything you need to self cater. We all cooked/ate in the main house with the huge table - again fab kitchen with 2 ovens and 2 dishwashers - great when 15 are eating at each meal. Open fire here was lovely too. There's a separate games building that's great for teens and adults. Only small negative is that it's not signed from the main road - we had to call to be "led in". But that's the only small thing I can think of as a negative - Otherwise a stunning place for a large group to enjoy a luxury break - yes it's a bit pricey but you get what you pay for !! Would love to visit again.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2015
Thank you for your very kind comments. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Barwheys - it really is the perfect place for getting a large group together.

We value feedback of any kind, so we absolutely will take your comment about the sign posting on board and we shall do everything we can to find a solution.

We really do hope that we can see you all back here in the future.


Kind regards

The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weil1
Ayr, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely stunning accommodation in beautiful countryside!”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Have now stayed at Barwheys on two occasions and will definitely be back. Most recently we stayed for the weekend to celebrate my daughter's wedding with extended family. The facilities are second to none - five star all the way.

Stunning bedroom accommodation with extremely comfortable beds. You don't need to take anything with you - absolutely everything is provided. The main farmhouse is excellent for entertaining up to 16 and if there are more of you the Granary is the perfect space to gather and socialise.

The owners are extremely helpful and Drew who takes care of the place can not do enough to help. A great place to stay. Can't think of anything negative.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2015
Thank you for your fantastic review - it was a pleasure to have you here. We are delighted that you all enjoyed your time at Barwheys and even more so that you all returned for a second visit.

We work hard to maintain our 5 Star rating and it's always wonderful to hear it's appreciated.

We hope to see you here again in the future.

Kind regards

The Barwheys Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing