We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Cottage”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Cairnhill

Cottage close up
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Cottage close up
Cairnhill Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
Cottage close up
Cairnhill Cottage
A view down the track leading to the cottage
A view of the Garden
Living Room
Living Room
Kitchen
Dining Area
Bedroom 1 Double room with en-suite shower room
Bedroom 1 -En-suite
Bedroom 2 Twin Bedroom
Bedroom 2 Twin Bedroom
Bedroom 3 Twin Bedroom
Bedroom 3 Twin Bedroom
Upstairs Toilet
Family Bathroom
Utility Room
View of the River Stinchar from the cottage drive
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Girvan, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Gillian D
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Cottage”
Reviewed 31 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

A beautiful cottage set in the lovely Galloway countryside, equipped with everything that was needed, including a great range of books and games.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Off street parking with room for more than one car.
Liked least: Could have done with a few more mugs.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for the good review, we are always ready to learn so if there is ever anything we have forgotten please let us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary E
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A true gem!”
Reviewed 24 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

The photographs don't do Cairnhill justice. It is so much nicer and deceptively spacious. We have just enjoyed a wonderful week in such perfectly idyllic surroundings. It is well equipped and spotlessly clean. It is well positioned for exploring Ayrshire, Dumfries and Galloway and for visit to Arran. I would highly recommend this real gem of a cottage.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jun 2015
Thank you very much for your review we are finding it hard to take photos that do the property justice. must try harder, thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astihult6...
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Love it Love it Love it!”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

3rd time back! I love the cottage, the view, I just love coming back. I stayed alone for a number of nights and felt safe and secure in this lovely house. My family came for a couple of days with my Granddaughters this was their 2nd time. My daughter in law loves the modern twist and the attention to detail. My youngest Granddaughter loves the garden and we spent hours treasure hunting in the grounds. We lite the fire this time in the evening, although we had a great week for the weather and didn't need it really, it was very homely to have it burning away in the evening. We took a trip in to Girvan and spent the day waking round the little shops and had chips on the harbour. We stopped at a little cafe for a cup of tea the name slips me but they also sell very nice handbags and shoes, which interested my teenage granddaughter no end. I'm definitely coming back next year or maybe even in October if available. I would highly recommend this holiday cottage 100%

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Apr 2015
dear Jacqueline
Thank you very much for your kind review. I'm sorry to here that the new build shower room was a disaster area. John Wyllie has sorted the problem and we are drying it out as fast as possible prior to redecorating. If you come back in the future which we hope you do we will give you a 10% discount (but please remind me when you book)
Again very many thanks Charles Coltman.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
flomcco
glasgow
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“jewel in South Ayrshire”
Reviewed 3 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This is one of the best self catering cottage we have stayed in. It is equipped to a very high standard with lots of added luxuries. Jim and Debbie went out of there way to ensure we had everything we needed. There was a wonderful welcome waiting lovely flowers and gorgeous home made shortbread.
We had a most wonderful stay it is so cosy and relaxing the beds are the comforts ever. The walks are wonderful we particularly loved Barr which is close by with lovely walks and lots of wildlife. The only low point for us was packing up to leave.
We are planning our next trip though. The pictures do not do this cottage justice it is much more gorgeous. Thank you so much Jim and Debbie. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The gorgeous cottage and surroundings
Liked least: packing up to leave.
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2015
Thank you for your kind review and we certainly look forward to welcoming you again. Sorry the photos did not do justice perhaps we should have some professional ones. The ones in the site we took ourselves. We are also developing a Web site to give more data. Thanks again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
661Jane
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect property”
Reviewed 6 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Glad we found this gem of a property; simply but well equipped with all we needed as a family of 5. Warm welcome. Very clean property. To our youngest it was 'our new home' which if we come back to this area of Scotland we would stay in it again. Thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Very many thanks for your review and we hope you will come again. If there is anything we can do to improve your stay please let us know.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing