We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic escape from London”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Durrie Cottage

Durrie Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Durrie Cottage
Porch Hall
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
46 reviews
Durrie Cottage
Porch
Hall
Bookshelf
Living Room
Sewing Machine
Lamp
Main bathroom
Shower room
Shower room
Torridon from Beinn Damph
Summer
Autumn
Winter
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
View over garden gate
Sunset over loch Torrion
Dining room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Torridon, Ross and Cromarty, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
alexstrac
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic escape from London”
Reviewed 10 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Four friends from London had a great short stay at Durrie Cottage in August. The location was ideal with good access to the village and the fantastic cafe-shop, as well as walks nearby. The views from the bedrooms were brilliant and we very much appreciated the quiet. The newly refurbished bathrooms are lovely and part of planned further refurbishment of the cottage. We would definitely recommend staying here and hope do come again.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JeanettaS...
Hermanus, South Africa
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Our accommodation experience at Durrie Cottage”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We had a wonderful stay at Durrie! Had everything we need to make a proper meal, both bathrooms were modern, clean and spacious and we especially loved the underfloor heating and warm towel railings. Sally were very friendly and welcoming to us. Thanks Sally! Our first impression of the cottage was that it's welcoming, warm and full of character. The only negative thing that we felt was that, apart from the bathrooms and kitchen, the rest of the house was not clean and definitely did not see a duster just before we came (I know we left it cleaner as it was afterwards) and the rest of the cottage urgently need some attention (renovations and a paint job inside). I also don't think the stairs is safe for small children. There were even a mouse in the house which took a wee bite from our apple, but that we actually found very funny! We also would have preferred a lighter summer duvet (even though it was very cold outside) or otherwise a blanket and a flat sheet to have a choice at least. All and all, a very nice visit and we loved Scotland! Thank you Sally!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The wonderful view, character of the cottage and quietness
Liked least: The condition of the walls in rooms, kitchen and stairs which urgently need some attention
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jul 2015
Jeanetta, thanks for your review and for letting us know your concerns that there could have been a mouse at the cottage. We've never had any issues like this before but we have arranged for pest controllers to carry out a thorough inspection and address anything they find. Please get in touch to discuss this with us further. We have planned some renovations over the winter which we hope will address your other comments.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moir
Much Wenlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Great location but cottage in need of attention”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We were disappointed with the cottage the hall, stairs and landing was quite scruffy, the dining room is in need of freshening up and the kitchen in need of attention particularly the window frame which is appeared to be stained with dirt. We acknowledge that the owner clearly has made improvements over the years to the bathrooms and the porch. The lounge and bedrooms have been freshened up. We cannot fault the range of kitchen utensils and the storage heaters were effective. We had our breakfast in the porch to enjoy the amazing view of the loch!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2015
Thank you for your helpful feedback. We're sorry to hear you were disappointed and hope you still had a nice holiday. We will take your comments into account when carrying out our winter renovations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sallyandb...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a beautiful cottage - what a lovely part of the world”
Reviewed 8 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This cottage is the cutest little thing and we had a really wonderful time. The bedroom, bathrooms and fires were so lovely - we couldn't have had a nicer time and our little spaniel definately never wanted to leave!! We will be going back :)

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: the bath!
Liked least: low doorframes!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
meditativ...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“relaxing”
Reviewed 24 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage in a fantastic location. Homely and lived in, with many personal touches. Short walk to loch, and much to explore in the area.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing