We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Apartment”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boys Dormitory

View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Aerial view of the Abbey The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Aerial view of the Abbey
The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Antiques throughout the property
Spacious open plan living area
Solid oak kitchen with all modern amenities
Very comfortable sofas for admiring the view of Loch Ness
Antique UK king-sized brass bed
Billiards room and club lounge - the former monks' refectory
Indoor pool in the historic chapel
The abbey cloisters
The view from the window in winter
Loch Ness from the grounds of the monastery, with Boat House restaurant
Gorgeous sunrise over Loch Ness
View of the Boys Dormitory window from the cloisters
Fort Augustus Abbey at dusk
View through the daffodils to the monastery
Stunning architecture of the abbey
View of Boys Dormitory from the gardens
Caledonian Canal at Fort Augustus, built by Thomas Telford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
NicolaEJo...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Apartment”
Reviewed 2 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Had a fantastic stay, a lovely and relaxing week away before our baby is born. The apartment is superb, great facilities. We didn't have great weather, but that really didn't matter in such amazing accommodation.

Can't express how good the shower is!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katyed
Exeter UK
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect Again”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our second visit and everything was as wonderful as last time. The view was even better than we remembered. There is plenty to do in the local area with a car and we will definitely be back.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashley M
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Absolutely perfect for a long weekend away!”
Reviewed 26 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Spectacular views from the sitting room window- wonderful location right on the loch. The apartment was beautiful, everything from the furnishings to the kitchen utensils were top of the range! The owners surprised us with some prosecco- they thought of everythng! Fab power shower too. We couldn't have asked for more and enjoyed our engagement celebrations there. We will be coming back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unforgettable”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Me and my partner fell in love with the place defiantly going back next year to spend more time as we only stayed for four nights only down side is the apartment is at the top of the Abby and there is no lift only a flight of stairs so getting your lugage up there is hard work

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andyswof
Graham, NC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Four wonderful nights at the Boys Dormitory”
Reviewed 16 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

The Boys Dormitory and Fort Augustus is a great place to stay for exploring the Highlands. The apartment is very clean, spacious and has that extra something that makes for a special stay. It is wonderfully appointed with everything you need and the views are great across the Loch and the surrounding mountains. The view from the bedroom of the Abby courtyard is also special. The shower, though small, is excellent and a joy to experience after a long day hiking or exploring the region. There are 75 steps to get to the apartment (my wife counted) but well worth the effort.

Fort Augustus is a charming small village with about 10 restaurants (sharing mostly the same menu). But with the canal running through the center of town with the locks and Loch Ness right there it really made it a great place to spend the evenings. My wife and I enjoyed walking down by the Loch, up the canal and around town in the evenings. The location makes it about an hours drive to Glencoe, Inverness, the Kintail mountains and Cairngorms National Park and only 1.5hrs from Skye. I thought it a perfect base for exploring the region.

I would rate the Boys Dormitory and Fort Augustus a 10/10 stay and like others have said, we did not want to leave.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: shower, location
Liked least: bed, steps
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2014
Thank you for the very kind words, Andy! They are very much appreciated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing