We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautifully appointed with spectacular views...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Boys Dormitory

View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Aerial view of the Abbey The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
View over the rooftops - the Boys Dormitory is the roof in the foreground
Aerial view of the Abbey
The apartment has two stunning large stone mullioned windows
Antiques throughout the property
Spacious open plan living area
Solid oak kitchen with all modern amenities
Very comfortable sofas for admiring the view of Loch Ness
Antique king-sized brass bed
Billiards room and club lounge - the former monks' refectory
Indoor pool in the historic chapel
The abbey cloisters
The view from the window in winter
Loch Ness from the grounds of the monastery, with Boat House restaurant
Gorgeous sunrise over Loch Ness
View of the Boys Dormitory window from the cloisters
Fort Augustus Abbey at dusk
View through the daffodils to the monastery
Stunning architecture of the abbey
View of Boys Dormitory from the gardens
Caledonian Canal at Fort Augustus, built by Thomas Telford
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Fort Augustus, Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Marina R
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautifully appointed with spectacular views - the perfect mix of modern comforts and historic architecture.”
Reviewed 17 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

From the time we booked it to the time we checked out, our experience with the Boys Dormitory was a positive one. The Abbey's stunning architecture and grounds make you feel as though you've stepped back in time, but the apartment has all the comforts you could want. Gorgeous linens and towels, shower with separate tub, tasteful cushions in the window seats for comfortable reading, cozy couches and fully-equipped kitchen. We even made arrangements for them to have a bottle of Champagne waiting for us, and it was delicious - Veuve Clicquot.

Prior to our stay, the owners sent a thoughtful and very helpful booklet of things to do in the area, which they had printed themselves. The whole thing was top-notch, and we'd recommend it to anyone. Truly the nicest place we stayed our entire time in Scotland.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The architecture.
Liked least: Walking up 6 flights of stairs with my bags when we first arrived.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words! We have worked hard to make the Boys Dormitory a luxurious, comfortable 'home from home', and it's great to know when we've succeeded in our goal. Sorry about the stairs - it's a long climb, I know, but the views from the windows are worth it once you're there!
Mark & Laurie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
103katee1...
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A perfect destination”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We enjoyed a fabulously cosseted six night stay at the Boys Dormitory recently. The apartment is beautiful furnished, and so comfortable with splendid views that it was difficult to tear ourselves away to do some sightseeing. We decided the best thing was a morning sightseeing, then a good lunch out.more sightseeing in the afternoon and spend the evenings enjoying the apartment and a bottle of wine. This was definitely the right idea.
We were lucky to have lovely sunny weather, although quite cold, but the scenery was fantastic with lots of snow on the tops of the mountains.
We would definitely recommend The Boys Dormitory. Thank you Mark and Laurie.
Kate and Ron

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The comfortable furnishings and the views
Liked least: The stairs to the third floor - but worth it for the view!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lois W
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning, stunning, wonderful.”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I just returned from a lovely trip in Fort Augustus at the Boys Dormitory. From the moment we arrived, we felt very welcome and thoroughly spoilt throughout our stay.
The apartment was spotless- and everything was to the highest standard. We particularly enjoyed the cascade shower and heated towel rails!

Words cannot describe how wonderful the view of Loch Ness from the Chapel window is. We became so enamoured with it that it was difficult to fit in sight seeing. The Abbey also had a delightfully secluded pool and sauna, as well as a clubhouse common area and romantic cloisters to walk through. There was also direct access to the local village, with very cute pubs and canals.

I would thoroughly recommend this retreat for couples looking for a luxurious retreat in the Highlands. We will definitely be returning. Thank you to Mark and Laurie for making this possible.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Four flights of stairs ! Though the views were worth it.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jayandgre...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Unbelievable, didn't want to go home!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Upon arrival to the Highland club premises we were in awe. From the massive grounds to the abbey itself we were already impressed and hadn't even stepped foot inside.

We were met by a lovely lady called Pebble who gave us a guided tour of the building and grounds (we really did need one the place is huge) she was very knowledgeable and gave us so much information without overwhelming us.

The Boys Dormitory was fantastic. Very spacious and modern while keeping the traditional feel with the original features of the building. A personal highlight for my girlfriend was the huge window seat looking straight out of over Loch Ness... thats right Loch Ness right on your doorstep! Above all though, the place was spotless. No dust, hairs or stains ANYWHERE.

The bed was so comfortable and with a great selection of dvds, fully kitted out kitchen, Champers in the fridge and complimentary 'illy' coffee it really was a home away from home.

Even the stairs didn't spoil it, everyone knows more stairs means better view!

All in all it was the perfect romantic getaway and words can't quite describe how great it was (but I gave it a good try haha)

Be warned, once you're there you won't want to leave. Really.

Thank you Mark & Laurie, will be staying in the Boys Dormitory in the near future!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vicki T
Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
“A Holiday To Remember”
Reviewed 10 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

Our 5 day break in February was wonderful. The location of the apartment at the bottom of Loch Ness has to be seen to be believed. The view is stunning and pours in through the windows. It's difficult to move from the sumptuous sofas as they are perfectly positioned to 'Loch Watch'. The entire apartment is full of character and the furnishings and attention to detail help to make this a holiday to remember. We would love to return in the Autumn.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$143
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing