We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Very quiet and peaceful state park

We wore ponchos because we visited the morning they closed schools due to an expected tornado in... read more

Reviewed 4 days ago
BeenTo7Continents
,
Des Plaines, Illinois
Enjoyable hike

We enjoyed learning the history of Old Stone Fort in the museum and then taking the hike to explore... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
annkP8125BU
,
Hamilton, Ohio
via mobile
Read all 263 reviews
  
Reviews (263)
Filter reviews
263 results
Traveller rating
152
70
31
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
152
70
31
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews duck river native americans indian history bring water shoes enjoy nature beautiful scenery walking trails gift shop visitor center great place to visit mound campground hike falls woods museum ceremonies
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 263 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2021 via mobile

The original settlers knew a special setting when they found it. Ancient Native Americans made this a sacred place for ceremonies thousands of years ago. It still offers fantastic scenery and waterfall after waterfall during the short (under three miles, even with side trails to the river bank) hike. Easy walking trail and a few more rustic trails along the river. Really a beautiful quick hike.

Date of experience: February 2021
Thank ChanceGardener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2020

We came on a road trip break. Could have spent more time, but would say an hour is a minimum to gain an appreciation of the settling. True, the free museum is small, but also very good. The 18-minute film played on request is very worthwhile, even vital, to understand the historic area. Beautiful view of the mounds, Duck River and Little Duck River. Well-marked trails with storyboards. Beautiful place. There are also playground and campgrounds.

Date of experience: November 2020
Thank jbwhitehouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2020 via mobile

I stopped here for a quick visit and decided to do the full Enclosure Trail Loop. There were only a couple other visitors so the trail was quiet. There are plenty of places to get great shots, just sit and think or enjoy nature. The entire trail has informative boards that give you a look in to the history of the area. The trail is easy to follow and doesn't require a lot of physical ability.

Date of experience: September 2020
1  Thank tadjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2020 via mobile

We have had this on our bucket list for awhile, and it didn’t disappoint. There are numerous beautiful hikes, all fairly easy. We enjoyed the waterfalls and had fun rock hopping. Bring water shoes because you can swim and play in the water. Definitely, don’t miss this.

Date of experience: August 2020
2  Thank WildHaireHiking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2020 via mobile

All the park rangers looking over this park are wonderful. They even have a tiny museum with activities for children. Even if you’re not a child enjoy putting yourself under the waterfall.

Date of experience: July 2020
Thank rachelwP2205GN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews