We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: Closed
Save
Review Highlights
A unique experience not to be missed

Our planned visit was not a disappointment. The history of these buildings and the library are... read more

Reviewed 2 November 2018
Sue D
A National Treasure

The Library at Innerpeffray is a true gem and national treasure. It's the oldest lending library in... read more

Reviewed 24 October 2018
Bob J
Read all 99 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Crieff
from US$51.10
More Info
from US$125.30
More Info
from US$181.50
More Info
from US$57.50
More Info
Reviews (99)
Filter reviews
99 results
Traveller rating
85
14
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
85
14
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews love books amazing collection scottish history well worth a visit historical significance little gem perthshire countryside crieff area chapel volunteers century topic edition borrowers scotland treasure tines
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 99 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

The oldest lending library in Scotland, Innerpeffray is an essential library to visit for academics, researchers, history buffs or anyone who simply has a passion for books. The incredibly friendly staff have a vast amount of expertise on all the books in the library and are happy to share their knowledge.
A very tactile experience where you can request any book to handle, hughly recommended.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank naramatajunebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara H, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks so much for posting a review and recommending a visit. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We visited the library on a beautifully sunny May morning. It is a little hidden, although not really hard to find, in the green and flowering Scottish countryside. We were met by the Keeper of the books and her colleague. Both ladies were generous with their time and extensive knowledge. This is a fascinating spot- the first lending library in Britain. It has an inspiring history, and many treasures to pore over. We stayed several hours, and will definitely return. If you love books, history, education, natural history, and natural beauty it is not to be missed. The highlight for me was the chance to examine a superb two volume set of etchings of Pictish stones, some of which I had recently seen. The attached chapel is also worth visiting. A magical place.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Trail657913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara H, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, we are very glad you enjoyed your visit and woudl recommend to others.
Lara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We hadn’t even heard of this library until we saw it on LinkedIn, but it is absolutely fascinating. We had a wonderful couple of hours this morning - and were shown how to understand some of the basics of how to looking at old books, and some of the social history that can be gleaned from the books themselves, and the records of who borrowed what. The whole team were so enthusiastic and it was completely contagious. I hope I will be able to come back soon (I am already thinking of all the people I want to share it with). Thank you so much for a wonderful visit

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara H, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit, and really appreciate your taking the time to write a review. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

This place is run by wonderful staff whose passion for history and literature is evident from the moment you get there. It's dependent on contributions and should be funded so please visit if you're in the area. If you love literature and primary sources or if you've ever visited the National Archives and loved it, this is the place for you. They have many local history books and lots of Jacobite and Scottish history. We are hoping to return with friends this summer.

Date of experience: April 2018
1  Thank Caitlin_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara H, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2018 via mobile

Second visit- stayed two hours- didn’t want to leave! Ask about the amorous notes in the Seneca or get Bill Gray going about 18th century fake news. But the book- go into the chapel- take time!

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank henryhtapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara H, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Delighted you enjoyed your 2nd visit - role on round 3!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews