We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting”

Library of Innerpeffray
Ranked #2 of 11 things to do in Crieff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Scotland's oldest lending library sits in a tranquil rural location beside the River Earn. Founded in 1680 by David Drummond 3rd Lord Madertie, with a school, at Innerpeffray near Crieff in rural Perthshire.Today thinking people from across the world come to enjoy the peaceful surroundings, to explore the social heritage captured in its Borrower's Register, and turn the pages to be inspired by books dating from four centuries.
Reviewed 19 June 2018

First visit to this little library, in the Perthshire countryside. Well worth the visit, giving the history of the area and another example of how the landowner regarded his workers, giving a education to the children, with a small school attached. Interested in past this is a place worth a visit. The saying above the entrance with a quote by “Arthur Herman” “the Magna Carta of the Scottish mind” a very apt saying about this place.

Thank mack55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara H, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks for taking the time to post a review and sharing your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (97)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"love books"
in 6 reviews
"scottish history"
in 5 reviews
"little gem"
in 4 reviews
"perthshire countryside"
in 2 reviews
"crieff area"
in 2 reviews
"well worth the visit"
in 2 reviews
"chapel"
in 17 reviews
"volunteers"
in 14 reviews
"century"
in 10 reviews
"topic"
in 4 reviews
"life"
in 9 reviews
"treasure"
in 6 reviews
"scotland"
in 19 reviews
"interests"
in 4 reviews
"texts"
in 3 reviews
"literature"
in 3 reviews
"founded"
in 5 reviews
Filter

8 - 12 of 97 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2018

The oldest lending library in Scotland, Innerpeffray is an essential library to visit for academics, researchers, history buffs or anyone who simply has a passion for books. The incredibly friendly staff have a vast amount of expertise on all the books in the library and are happy to share their knowledge.
A very tactile experience where you can request any book to handle, hughly recommended.

Thank naramatajunebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara H, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks so much for posting a review and recommending a visit. We were delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018 via mobile

We visited the library on a beautifully sunny May morning. It is a little hidden, although not really hard to find, in the green and flowering Scottish countryside. We were met by the Keeper of the books and her colleague. Both ladies were generous with their time and extensive knowledge. This is a fascinating spot- the first lending library in Britain. It has an inspiring history, and many treasures to pore over. We stayed several hours, and will definitely return. If you love books, history, education, natural history, and natural beauty it is not to be missed. The highlight for me was the chance to examine a superb two volume set of etchings of Pictish stones, some of which I had recently seen. The attached chapel is also worth visiting. A magical place.

Thank Trail657913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara H, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review, we are very glad you enjoyed your visit and woudl recommend to others.
Lara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2018 via mobile

We hadn’t even heard of this library until we saw it on LinkedIn, but it is absolutely fascinating. We had a wonderful couple of hours this morning - and were shown how to understand some of the basics of how to looking at old books, and some of the social history that can be gleaned from the books themselves, and the records of who borrowed what. The whole team were so enthusiastic and it was completely contagious. I hope I will be able to come back soon (I am already thinking of all the people I want to share it with). Thank you so much for a wonderful visit

Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara H, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2018

We are delighted you enjoyed your visit, and really appreciate your taking the time to write a review. Look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2018 via mobile

This place is run by wonderful staff whose passion for history and literature is evident from the moment you get there. It's dependent on contributions and should be funded so please visit if you're in the area. If you love literature and primary sources or if you've ever visited the National Archives and loved it, this is the place for you. They have many local history books and lots of Jacobite and Scottish history. We are hoping to return with friends this summer.

1  Thank Caitlin_35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lara H, Manager at Library of Innerpeffray, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2018

Thanks so much for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Library of Innerpeffray also viewed

Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
Crieff, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Library of Innerpeffray? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing