We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent accommodation in stunning countryside”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
46 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Aberfeldy, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 46 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cindy P
Witney, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Excellent accommodation in stunning countryside”
Reviewed 11 April 2016 for a stay in December 2015

Our Christmas holiday week at Glengoulandie was most memorable! Our family of four had a very enjoyable, relaxing time complete with snow on Christmas Eve and a white Christmas morning. A week was too short to enjoy everything the lodges & surrounding area have to offer - we would love to return for much longer! It was a pleasure to arrive at Rainbow Lodge and well worth the long drive up from Oxfordshire. Russell's excellent directions and travel advice were really helpful and on arrival Rainbow Lodge was very welcoming thanks to Russell & Sandy's thoughtful personal touches & attention to detail: we were greeted by warmth, Christmas lights and a lovely gift box packed full of treats! Rainbow Lodge has beautiful views, is very well-maintained & decorated, very clean, spacious, good quality furnishings & bedding, comfortable beds & excellent bathrooms. It is one of the best places we have stayed at in the UK. The surrounding countryside is stunning - we enjoyed an amazing walk at Schiehallion in bright sunshine surrounded by snowy mountains - Glengoulandie is ideally situated within reach of all the beautiful and interesting places Scotland has to offer - we even drove to Ben Nevis through stunning Glencoe and were back before supper! we would definitely recommend Rainbow Lodge to everyone. Thanks Sandy & Russell for your friendliness & hospitality.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2016
Hi Cindy, Craig and the boys, Thank you very much indeed for taking the time to write and submit your wonderful review. It is very much appreciated and It really helps us to know what you appreciated about the Lodge and that we were able to get your holiday off to such a great start. Having stayed originally here ourselves as guests and then to end up taking over the business, we wish to continue running the Lodges from a guest's perspective. We would be delighted to accommodate you all once again and we look forward to your return. One of the great benefits of this business is meeting great people like yourselves! do keep in touch, Kind Regards, Russell and Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela G
middlesbrough
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing lodge with Amazing view”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

When we first entered Rainbow Lodge the first thing that caught our attention was the amazing view over the lochan with deer in the fields opposite. Infact most of our time in lodge was spent looking out at the amazing view and watching the deer and many birds on the lochan and the amazing stars at night.

There was a lovely welcome pack with homemade shortbread from the owners Russel and Sandy. The lodge was beautifully decorated with three large bedrooms all with their own large bathroom. It was very clean and lovely and warm at all times and equipped with everything you could need for your stay. Russel and Sandy contacted us to make sure we had everything we needed and to offer their help with any local information we may need.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lodge to family and friends.

Thank you Russel and Sandy we will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2016
Dear Angela & Family, We are both delighted to have received your super review. Thank you very much for all your really lovely comments. Both Sandy and I have both travelled extensively ourselves and know how important it is to be able to walk into a warm, comfortable and clean retreat 'away from it all' :-) We would be delighted to welcome you back at some point in the near future. Kind Regards, Russell & Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donato N
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
“stunning lodge, perfect for unwinding”
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We spent a long weenend in the Rainbow Lodge with two small children, the name is really appropriate since it is common to see rainbows, the view on the lochan from the large living room and master bedrom was really enchanting and we never got tired of looking out of the window, with ever changing light conditions. On a clear night we admired a miriad of stars from the balcony on the water front. The kids loved the willdlife (ducks, dears, etc.) and the fairy mountain topped with fresh snow. The lodge is new, clean, with all conforts you can think of (but our suggestion is: enjoy the scenery, TV and wi-fy not needed), the rooms are large and warm. We visited Abefeldy (the Birks), Loch Tay, Loch Tummel and Pitlocry. The owners are very kind and supportive. Highly reconmended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the autumn colors of Pethshire in general
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2015
Dear Donato and Family,
Your wonderful review is very much appreciated and it was a pleasure to have you all stay. The views and wildlife constantly change as you know and today the Loch's pair of Swans returned for the winter ! Keep in touch and do come and stay with us again to recharge the batteries. Kind Regards, Russell & Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leon V
1 review
“Comfortable, spacious and a tranquil view”
Reviewed 21 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Beautifully equipped and well-appointed cabin set in a peaceful location on the edge of a pretty lochan. We had no need at all to trouble the owners, but Russell is in regular contact by email or mobile to answer any queries. The lodges are fairly remote, so a car is a necessity for dining out/shopping, but Aberfeldy is just a 15 minute drive. Couldn't fault the lodge for cleanliness, warmth and the standard of equipment and amenities. Peace, perfect peace!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2015
Dear Leon & Family,

We are both delighted to have received your super review. Thank you very much for all your really lovely comments. Both Sandy and I have both travelled so much ourselves and know how important it is to walk into a stress free hideaway. We look forward to your return in February 2016.

Kind Regards,

Russell & Sandy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue_Eyed...
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent.....A+”
Reviewed 30 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We stayed in this beautiful lodge in mid July 2015.

The lodge is about 6 miles from Aberfeldy....and another 7 from A9....This is gives you the availability to be in what seems like the middle of nowhere and God's country....but close to a beautiful small town and access to almost anywhere in Scotland withing about 2 hours.

It was fresh, clean, with all the amenities.

Russell provided maps and all sorts of information on things to do....or you could just chill, what the deer, goats, ducks.....and fish jump in the lake. Just lean over the balcony...and the lake is at your finger tips.

Absolutely a great place to get away from it all!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jul 2015
Hello Diana, Sherri & Nicole, Thank you all very much for taking the time to review your stay at our Lodge. We are delighted you all had such a great time and were able to see so much of Scotland using the Lodge as your base. Kind Regards, Russell & Family.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$200
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing