We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“My dream tiny home!”

Review of The Slap Cottage

The Cottage where you can stay, overlooking  Scapa Flow
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage where you can stay, overlooking  Scapa Flow
The kitchen in the restored crofters cottage The sitting room with fire place and TV & DVD
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
20 reviews
The Cottage where you can stay, overlooking  Scapa Flow
The kitchen in the restored crofters cottage
The sitting room with fire place and TV & DVD
One of the stunning views from the cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Burray Village, Burray, Orkney Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 20 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Helen K
1 review
“My dream tiny home!”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in February 2014

The Slap is a wonderfully sensitively restored little barn on a lovely little island. Orkney is a place layered with history and so it felt just right to be dwelling here for the week, with the stone floors and the windows looking out over the island of Burray. Our favourite room in the cottage was the kitchen. The cottage has a real welcoming feel to it, and Catherine is very friendly, along with her "extended family" of animals on the farm.
My friend and I had such a lovely time here that I returned a year later with my partner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the kitchen and the really reasonable price and the animals, and Catherine who was so welcoming.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Apr 2016
Thankyou Helen for your lovely review, we hope to welcome you back in the future to see the new animals that have come to live with us
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annadoria...
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Magic. Just Magic”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2014

This was far from our first stay at the Slap. We first stayed here back in 2001 and have returned on a regular basis ever since. Catherine has always welcomed us with open arms, the cottage has been cosy and a real home from home and we have loved helping feed the lambs, chickens, goats, whatever animals are around!
The cottage has everything you need from a holiday let and more - and Catherine is always on hand for advice on places to visit and things to see, making the whole Orkney Experience a joy. She has a wealth of knowledge about the islands, from where to go to enjoy the history or the beaches to where to go to buy the local fish or see some of the lovely crafts being created. She knows where you can get a good meal out, how to book your ferry or flight for a day out on one of the other islands.
The cottage is totally traditional Orcadian - a step back in time but with a modern comfort of warmth and mod-cons.
My recommendation is - don't wait. Book now !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The welcome
Liked least: Going home afterwards!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
Thankyou Anna for your lovely review of The Slap, i am glad that i could help and advise on places to see, where to eat and where to visit on our lovely islands, the animals really enjoy all the fuss too, I hope to welcome you back next time you visit Orkney and our little island
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q6585TKsa...
West Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
“Warm and welcoming”
Reviewed 14 March 2016 for a stay in June 2015

Mrs Corsey was incredibly welcoming when we arrived and able to provide us with some valuable information about places to visit as well as practical details of where to buy food, eat out, local weather etc. The cottage is exceedingly well appointed and it was really helpful to arrive to find a courtesy package of local goods along with some basic provisions. The location of the cottage means it's easy to access the major sites by car. I would thoroughly recommend this as an excellent place to stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Mar 2016
Thankyou for your lovely review of the cottage, we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jayne C
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful authentic experience”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in July 2014

We had the most fabulous holiday staying at Slap Cottage. The owners were exceptionally welcoming, nothing was too much trouble for them, they were knowledgeable about the history of the area, indeed all of Orkney and gave us invaluable information for getting the most out of our stay. The cottage is delightful, authentic, comfortable, warm ,clean, and so full of character. We seriously did not want to leave it, it felt like home and had everything in it you needed and many quirky things besides. It was one of our most memorable holidays and we truly felt part of the life on the farm, feeding the animals every morning, if you want to and relaxing watching the comings and goings of the birds. Whenever we go back to Orkney, Slap cottage will be chosen again .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The setting and the owners and the cottage!
Liked least: The rain !!!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2016
Thankyou for my lovely Review of the cottage, a warm welcome awaits you on your next visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa S
Carlisle
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Comfy, welcoming and interesting holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 12 March 2016 for a stay in July 2014

We stayed for a week in 2014 and it wasn't long enough; so welcoming with flowers, fresh eggs and Orkney beer - nothing had been overlooked in amenities in the cottage and we really enjoyed making the acquaintance of all the animals next door! Our hostess couldn't have made us more welcome or comfortable. Much enjoyed reading about the history of the croft amongst materials in the cottage. Loved our time so much there we are coming back this July for TWO weeks...sure this won't be our last visit either!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Being made so welcome and the cosy interesting nature of the cottage.
Liked least: The wet room - prefer a bath, but the wet room was fine for the holiday.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Mar 2016
Thankyou for your lovely review of the cottage, we are happy you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back in July.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing