We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic House!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Linkfield

Linkfield
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Linkfield
Large lounge. Lounge.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
24 reviews
Linkfield
Large lounge.
Lounge.
Evenings round the open fire.
Traditional Coal Fire.
Dining Table.
Dining Room.
Kitchen Area.
Utility Room.
Bedroom 1.
Bedroom 1 seating area.
Bedroom 2.
Bedroom 2.
Original Feature.
Bedroom 3.
Bedroom 4 (single).
Front garden view to Holy Isle.
Rear garden area.
.
Your home from home....
Lamlash Bay and Holy Island..
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Lamlash, Isle of Arran, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anne21aga...
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic House!”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from a week in this lovely house.It has everything you need for a self catering holiday and more.......very comfortable and great location.....plenty space there were only 4 of us but with 4 bedrooms ideal house for a big family.We were lucky we had some lovely sunny weather and had a great week on Arran.Hope to return soon.Thank You Christine for the use of your beautifull home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2016
Thank you Anne for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is always good to know that guests have enjoyed their stay. Even better when the sun shines for them too! I do hope to see you again in the future. Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HKG2301
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We booked Linkfield for a family wedding and he rates were so reasonable we decided to extend our stay to a week to explore Arran. Very glad we did, as we enjoyed the hike up Goat Fell so much (superb views) we did it again a few days later, by a different route!

We have nothing but praise for Christine who (along with Trip Advisor) made the booking process quick and easy. The cottage is well located, comfortable, cosy and well appointed. We will be back!

A couple of points to note: wifi is include and works fine, while mobile coverage is a little iffy. Oh, and don't forget towels!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 May 2016
Thanks for taking the time to share such a positive review. I am pleased that you found the house to your satisfaction and look forward to welcoming you again should you choose to return to the lovely Island of Arran. Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John M
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great house”
Reviewed 4 April 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed here for the second year in a row now. We stayed for a long weekend in February. Again, the house was great for us arriving, Christine is really easy to organise through and speak with, really accommodating. We love this house, it's in a great location, breach at the bottom of the road and restaurants and bars a 5 minute walk away. The house is of a high standard, solid old house with lots to offer, beautiful inside and out. There's loads of room and was perfect for our family. We stayed here with children and it was ideal. The weather was cold in February but the open fire was absolutely fantastic. The kitchen and dining area was great for family to all sit together. A great house, we look forward to returning

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2016
Thank you very much John - both for your return booking and also for the lovely comments about the house. I look forward to welcoming you again at some point -hopefully for a longer stay next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KelfieldT...
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Having stayed on Arran countless times over the years and experienced most types of rental accommodation, we certainly weren't disappointed by Linkfield.
From the easy booking process, the communication by the owner and then staying at the house, it was a delight.
The house boasts spectacular views, dominated by the Holy Isle and only a very short walk to the beach/sea. The property was large and spacious enough for two families with young children to not feel that we were living on top of each other.
Whilst the furniture was understandably appropriate for rental purposes, it was clean and comfortable, with the beds especially so!

My only disappointment was that whilst on holiday on Arran, I like to sneak away to 'buy some frozen peas', but to my horror found that the Pierhead Tavern had shut! No more secret dad time in the pub................

In summary, the property was excellent and would thoroughly recommend Linkfield. Plus the weather was excellent, which is always a bonus on Arran!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Stunning views
Liked least: Pierhead Tavern closed.......!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at Linkfield and thank you for taking the time to write such a complimentary review. As you say - having good weather this year was a bonus! I look forward to welcoming you back if you decide to return to Arran again. Best wishes - Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
batesy18
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic house”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Myself and my family are just back from an excellent stay in Linkfield, the house has everything you need for a large family get together. I have stayed in a few self catering properties on Arran and this one is easily the best for space, comfort, facilities and location. The views across to the Holy Isle are stunning. Christine (the owner) was in touch before we arrived to see if we required any additional touches, everything we asked for was provided. I have no doubt we will be back at the next opportunity. Thank you

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space, decor and location
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Aug 2015
Thank you for your positive comments. I am glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay and I look forward to welcoming you back for a return visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing