We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect location for a special occasion”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ladywell House

Ladywell House from the north
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ladywell House from the north
view from the front door
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Ladywell House from the north
view from the front door
Floor Plan
Drawing room
tv room
Kitchen
Kitchen with AGA
Dining Room
Dining Room
conservatory
conservatory
Shand Kydd bedroom
Shand Kydd bathroom
Palace bedroom
Diana's bedroom....decorated for her.
Lomond bedroom
Mezzanine landing
Family bathroom
Mezzanine bathroom
Harry bedroom
Top floor family bathroom
Wills' bedroom
Large garden
Not included !!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Falkland, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jeanette...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a special occasion”
Reviewed 13 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We have just spent a wonderful week at Ladywell House with our daughters, sons-in-law and our 4 grandchildren. We couldn't have chosen a better place to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary. A delightful spacious house full of character with everything you could possibly need for a relaxing break. The kitchen was very well equipped and we quickly got the hang of the aga. Our grandchildren loved the walled garden and had great fun on the trampoline and swing set. The owner, Duncan, was very welcoming and helpful. We would highly recommend Ladywell House.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of spacious rooms to escape to, for some quiet time
Liked least: Sloping garden
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
A great place for your family get-together... The house is big enough for everyone to have space to spend alone, and together! We are very grateful for your review, and hope that you will return for the 50th Anniversary!

Take care

Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
doc_joe_N...
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Superb rental experience”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed with large group attending graduation at St. Andrew. Lovely house with great deal of character and history. Spacious bedrooms, comfortable beds, and large bathrooms. Living room with fireplace and well stocked bar. Well stocked kitchen with Aga stove, refrigerator and dishwasher. Washing machine and drying room. The nearby Falkland village, palace and estate make for good walking or jogging trails. Edinburgh, St. Andrews and Perth are all under an hour's drive. The host, Duncan, was always available and took great pains to make our stay comfortable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The character roof the house
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
We are very touched by your kind words, and are so glad that the stay was suitable for your trip to St Andrews. We wish you all the very best, and hope that you will return.

Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandy S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Birthday weekend”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We rented Ladywell House for the weekend for my wife's birthday celebrations with friends and family. The house was perfect, loads of room for all the family, the kids had a great time. Rooms were beautiful, very clean and comfortable. Spacious drawing room and kitchen, which was very well equipped. The house had everything we needed and Duncan was very helpful and always available to help. House was surrounded by beautiful scenery and would definitely recommend Ladywell House.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
Delighted that the house as perfect for your Birthday celebrations, and thank you for your praise about the property.

Kind regards

Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jbray2
Stirling, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“weekend break”
Reviewed 28 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Fabulous homely house, well stocked with basics in the kitchen and coal for a lovely log fire in the evenings. Loads of living space for the whole family to spread out and Duncan was very helpful throughout.

Cleanliness Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2015
We do appreciate the kind words, and your comments are very welcome. We do hope that you will find an excuse to come back to stay again. Many thanks. Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirsty G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
Reviewed 17 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We have just returned from an excellent five night stay at Ladywell House. We rented the house with two other families: it suited our needs perfectly. We have in the past gone camping as a group but decided to go "up market" and found this gem on our website travels. Duncan the owner was very friendly when we first telephoned to make enquiries and made us feel very welcome when we arrived. The house is indeed "magical"; full of character, well equipped, full of history and in a lovely location. Falkland is a lovely village with lots of character, gift shops, coffee shops and eateries and is a great base for investigating the surrounding area. The walks to the Estate and fabulous waterfalls are worth a visit.

Rooms Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2014
Thank you so much for the lovely review, and delighted that it was perfect for you - and a step-up from camping!! Please do spread the word, and come to stay again when you get a chance.

Duncan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing