We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fabulous long weekend”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Bakerswell House

Kitchen
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kitchen
Living room Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
Kitchen
Living room
Master bedroom
Street
Fornt Elevation
Courtyard
Kitchen
Bedroom 2
Bathroom
Bathroom
Bedroom 5
Ensuite
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Cloakroom
cloakroom
Living room
Courtyard
deck
Deck
The sea
Sea wall
Plan
Section
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Anstruther, Fife, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
JStorrie
Edinburgh
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“A fabulous long weekend”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

Just arrived home after a wonderful weekend. the house is well situated within 5 minutes of the seafront and the famous chip shop.

It's also ideally situated for touring and walking the Fife coastal route.

The house was spotless and provided everything you could need. My only grumble was that there was no WIFI available.

This made it difficult to research the area while we were there. There's little or no phone signal or internet service in the property.

However, if all you want to do us sign out from the world, this this is a positive.

A very enjoyable stay.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2015
The house now has WiFi
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossco_ed...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in a delightful village”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 for a stay in November 2013

You really have to see this house to believe it. It is absolutely gorgeous and perfect for a large group of people. Plenty space to hang out all together (or get away if you need to!). The kitchen is very well stocked and was my favourite room in the house.

Anstruther itself is beautiful, with stunning walks and the best chippy in Scotland!!

We will be back!!

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Runredmac
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely home”
Reviewed 29 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Three generations and two spaniels had a fantastic holiday in this lovely home. Six adults and four teenagers had plenty of room , bedrooms beautiful and beds comfortable . Upstairs kitchen and living space was perfect for any time of the day, surrounding area had great walks and plenty of things to do.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: House is beautiful
Liked least: House very noisy between floors but can not be helped due to conversion
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilanor...
Northampton
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A great house in a great location”
Reviewed 13 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Bakerswell House at the end of May with my daughter and family and two friends and loved the house and surrounding area. The house has been very imaginatively re-designed to provide very comfortable and spacious accommodation. The lay-out is quirky but that only adds to the charm of the house. The 5 bedrooms are all of a good size, the downstairs cloakroom is great for storing coats and shoes out of the way and right by the front door, the laundry room with washer and drier is a real boon. but the star of the house is the enormous kitchen/dining area with doors to the outside decking. This room evoked the 'Wow' response from everyone on arrival. The adults spent most time here, while the children took over the downstairs lounge where they could
watch DVDs. We all commented on how 'at home' we felt as soon as we arrived and were sorry to leave.
The house is very well located only a few minutes walk from the seafront and from the centre of Anstruther with shops and restaurants. A visit to the famous fish & chip shop is a must - and eating them sitting outside by the harbour is the way to do it if weather permits. There is loads to do in the area. Son-in-law and grandsons loved their trip out to the Isle of May despite a rough crossing ; we all found the Secret bunker visit fascinating and St Andrews is only a short drive away. Miley the dog absolute loved running on the sands there and everyone enjoyed a half day walk to Crail along the coastal path.
My only caveat would be that the house is on 3 levels so might not be suitable for anyone with restricted mobility. Otherwise I can thoroughly recommend it.

I have noted that the quality of the beds was not good, but have been in touch with the owner on this and she has said that she is going to change the mattresses which were problematic so this should not be a problem for future guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Enormous kitchen/diner and outside decking
Liked least: Bed quality was poor
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelG88...
Motherwell, United Kingdom
1 review
“LARGE COMFORTABLE HOME”
Reviewed 27 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Our stay was very comfortable and relaxing in this house. There were 7 adults of differing ages and we found we had loads of room and never felt we were on top of each other. The dining kitchen is huge and is a great place to sit in as there are 2 seperate seated areas, we spent a lot of time here. Beds and bathrooms both excellent. Thoroughly recommended. Easy walking distance to town centre in Anstruther.
5 star.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious kitchen area for meeting up in.
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing