We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Winter Getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Curlew Cottage

Curlew Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Curlew Cottage
Open plan living space, wood burning stove, doors to patio,great views across open countryside Ground floor double bedroom, wheelchair accessible
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Curlew Cottage
Open plan living space, wood burning stove, doors to patio,great views across open countryside
Ground floor double bedroom, wheelchair accessible
Spacious 1st floor double bedroom with en-suite shower room, great views
Loch Lomond landscape including Ben Lomond - the backdrop to our cottages
Time to relax, planty of spcae for the whole family
two adjoining cottages which sleep 12-14 if rented together
The spacious kitchen is well equipped
Comfortable living room in Curlew Cottage
Dining for eight in Curlew Cottage, however the table can be extended to seat 12
Ground floor bathroom, Curlew Cottage, with double ended bath and seperate shower
morning cup of tea with a great view - lovely start to your day!
Large kitchen to cater for large celebrations
Super-insulated eco-construction keeps things cosy
Spacious 1st floor twin bedroom
Plenty to do here for the kids
Our welcome pack includes eggs from our hens
Worth the 20 minute walk to our local viewpoint!
Messing about on the Bonnie Banks
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Gartocharn, Alexandria, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
HeichC
Aberford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Lovely Winter Getaway!”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in November 2014

First time in Curlew Cottage but our second visit to East Cambusmoon - loved it!

Brought Mum up from Cambridgeshire for her birthday and she's already pestering to return.

Arrived late at night to a roaring fire and homemade goodies which really settled us in for the weekend, visit a local Christmas Fayre, had afternoon tea and did a spot of retail therapy; other than that we simply vegetated in front of the log burner and TV with hot chocolate and birthday cake.

Will most certainly be returning to Curlew Cottage.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
Hello. We are so pleased you enjoyed your second stay here and glad that your Mum enjoyed her holiday too. It always a pleasure to welcome returning guests so thank you for your comments and for booking again.
Best wishes
Deborah & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Keith M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't ask for more”
Reviewed 22 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Curlew Cottage was a wonderfully comfortable and spacious home from home. Furnished with taste and immaculately clean, the bedding, bathrooms and kitchen were of a high standard and made the difference between a good stay and a fantastic stay. Well equipped with books, games DVDS and a thoughtful basket of children's toys and books.

The surrounding area is also lovely, with many good days out within a short distance. Inchcailloch Island in the middle of Loch Lomond was a favourite of ours.

Highly recommended, and unusually for me as I like to try new places, I would be delighted to go back. We loved it!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2015
Such lovely comments, thank you very much. We take a pride in maintaining high standards and its a pleasure to read your review. We are pleased you hope to return too!
Best regards
Deborah & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
damianb45...
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Loved it”
Reviewed 2 August 2014 for a stay in June 2014

A lovely lovely cottage that is beautifully presented and equipped with everything that you need. Location is great and the Curlews morning chorus in the adjacent fields is fabulous. Love the Eco rating and the thought that has gone into the design and build. This is how every new build should be.
Will be back and can highly recommend. Only slight downfall was there are no pubs/restaurants within walking distance, but they are only a short drive away so only an issue as we were away for university reunion.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1010BexP
Isle of Skye, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Top of the range Eco self catering in glorious Loch Lomomd”
Reviewed 9 June 2014 for a stay in October 2012

We stayed at Curlew Cottage as two families of four. The accommodation is excellent, 5 star, with everything you could want for grown ups and children. Even though the weather outside was cold, we were so toasty in this insulated Eco home, and really didnt need the stunning wood burner.... Although it was lovely having it on! The owners are attentive and hugely knowledgable about the local area, which is frankly one of the most stunning places we have ever stayed in and explored. We liked their promotion of local businesses, particularly the local Lomond brewery, a must try. With every detail thought of, and the knowledge that your home for the week is helping the environment, we will be back. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The helpful hosts and spacious house
Liked least: All good
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thank you for such a lovely review, we look forward to seeing you again this Summer and we're sure the whole family will enjoy barbecues on the patio and the long Summer evenings.
Best wishes, Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex G
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent vacation”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Steve and Deborah were excellent hosts! Loved this cottage - fully equipped and the rooms were lovely. Only a short drive to the Loch. Lovely eggs and other food stuff complimentary on our arrival! My extended relatives came over from Malaysia and they absolutely adored this place. Will definitely come back again. Thank you again Steve and Deborah.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jun 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and we're really glad your family from overseas had such a good time at the cottage and found it such a good base to explore the Loch Lomond area and the West Coast.
Best regards
Deborah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing