We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A charming and rustic cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
The perfect location any time of year!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The perfect location any time of year!
Dogs Welcome at Rose Cottage! Lulworth Cove showing Rose Cottage on the left hand side.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
31 reviews
The perfect location any time of year!
Dogs Welcome at Rose Cottage!
Lulworth Cove showing Rose Cottage on the left hand side.
Climb Bindon Hill high above the cottage for the best view of the Cove.   On top of the world!
This view of Lulworth Cove can be yours, only 5 minutes walk from Rose Cottage
Enjoy our secluded garden with sea and hill views all year but especially in the Spring.
Bindon Hill - fully fenced but with spectacular views,  makes an ideal place to walk the dog.
Rose Cottage lives up to its name in Summer glory!
The perfect  winter retreat!
Beautifully furnished Dining Room for that formal meal.  Seats 10.
Ensuite shower.
Storm in Lulworth Cove - 2 minutes walk!
and after the storm!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Wareham, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
pa9542
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A big disappointment nothing like the writup or photographs”
Reviewed 16 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Three of us stayed at Rose cottage on the week of the 4th of September this year,such a disappointment,the cottage needed a really good clean ,we didn't care to eat in as the pots in the kitchen had old food in them and twice saw mice in the kitchen,The garden was untidy and overgrown with very few roses or other flowers to be seen,lots of brambles though.the barbecue had old food burnt on it so we didn't barbecue ,the pool was empty so we could not swim,the dishwasher doesn't work, we felt the whole thing was not what we paid for.With lots of TLC and a thorough clean it could be really nice,a great location .we took 4 dogs and there were lots of nice walks but we will not return

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2015
I have already responded to this guest direct and hope that I have covered the points raised here in my other two responses on-line. I am sorry bad weather and a late summer booking caught us out in our standards of maintenance. We will do better in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sussexbel...
sussex
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely location but cottage needing some money to be spent on it”
Reviewed 9 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

On arrival we were happy with the look of the cottage. Lovely location. Plenty of bedrooms and bathrooms for the eight of us (2 only stayed 1 night).
The negatives made quite a long list.
The advertised pool which was the main reason we booked had been drained!
The kitchen had lots of 'stuff' in it but most of the cooking utensils/pots/pans were very old and worn. Very off putting for cooking, which meant we ate out every night which added enormously to the cost of our stay.
The living rooms and bedrooms needed a new coat of paint-all were looking very tired.
Our 4 night stay cost us £900 which would have been ok if there hadn't.been so many negatives.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Kitchen
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Sep 2015
We are always sorry to receive negative reviews as Rose Cottage is very much our personal enterprise. We apologise for any shortcomings. We spent last winter renovating the bathrooms to a very high standard and these have been much appreciated by our guests. We have applied for Plannning Permission to rebuild the Conservatory but, as we are a Grade 2 Listed Building, we may not get this in time to do the work this Winter. Whatever happens, we will take the opportunity of some quieter months to upgrade the kitchen. We were very disappointed to discover from our guests that the Swimming Pool had been closed early. I imagine this was because of the really bad weather in August but the Hotel did not notify us so we were unable to pass on the information to our guests. We would like to take this opportunity to inform our 2016 guests, who have already booked, that we cannot guarantee use of the pool next year. We have now removed all mention of the pool from our particulars.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catherine...
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A charming and rustic cottage, great location”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

The cottage provided a great home from home for a group of professionals working close by. The location is brilliant, and everyone enjoyed the stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kevinstan...
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Time had by all”
Reviewed 4 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

the location is perfect for walkers and just people chilling, the area is really quite stunning.
the accommodation was clean and the utilities were fine, the bedrooms were large with 3 bathrooms one being ensuite, the bathrooms were revamped and the power of the shower was great.
dinning room was large and accommodated eight of us around the table, ten was possible with knocking elbows. kitchen was fine and had all you needed, the stone floor made keeping the dogs out of the living room easy as a stair get stopped them in the kitchen and kept the house clean.
the dogs loved the cove and swam daily.
I would recommend taking a few board games with you if you get fed up of the freeview tv. the living room fire was easy to manage and also lit easily.
the back garden goes up to a area that is fenced off leading to the top of the hill/mountain, however keep a eye on your dogs if you do put them on this space as ours got out through the next door fence.
all in all a great family week in so so weather in a great location and accommodation. I would recommend this highly. those of my age will love Bovington tank museum.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NancyNurs...
Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Excellent long weekend break”
Reviewed 29 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Party of 8 adults & 2 dogs, cottage is lovely, comfortable & warm, with plenty of space for all. We had a most excellent, lots of walking, eating drinking very handy pub nearby. Well kitted out kitchen. I highly recommend Rose Cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing