We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Lovely”

Review of The Chancel

The Chancel across the churchyard
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Chancel across the churchyard
The Livingroom The Twin Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
The Chancel across the churchyard
The Livingroom
The Twin Bedroom
Out the door sitting in the sun
Through the arched window!
Through another arched window!
Dinner for 6
Start another day watching birds during breakfast
Just arrived - clean kitchen!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Converted chapel -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Wareham, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Racheal28...
Bourn
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just Lovely”
Reviewed 30 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

What a lovely home to share. Thank you. It is a great conversion and it has created a most unique and special place to stay.
Very well equipped - almost everything available - we just missed a gravy boat!
The house decoration is fab - very homely.
We had a fantastic time staying at this lovely property and did two lovely walks.
The Christmas Dec's were a great touch as well.
Thank you again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The property
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick G
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Dorset Delight”
Reviewed 20 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The Chancel is a marvellous base from which to explore the surrounding Dorset area.
It is well appointed and maintained, making it ideal for family holidays. I was surprised by how spacious it was. It's ecclesiastical legacy gives it a quirky charm, after all, it is not many people who get to stay in an old church. Despite being late September we were still able to sit outside of an evening, enjoying the garden, watching the bird's regular visits for food at the bird-table.
Wareham and Swanage are the nearest towns with the Tank Museum, Monkey World, Blue Pool and the Swanage Railway just several of many tourist attractions that are close by.
The Chancel has all the amenities that one could wish for when staying away from home.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quirky charm
Liked least: Eccentric television
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie030...
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Stayed here with my family (two adults and two teenagers) in August. What a fabulous week we had!

The Chancel is a unique property full of beauty and charm, very clean and spacious and well equipped. Everything we could have needed had been provided for us.

It is in a great location for exploring the Wareham and Purbeck area, with Monkey World and the Tank Museum just a few moments away by car. We also enjoyed visits to Lulworth, Durdle Door, Corfe Castle, Swanage and The Blue Pool to name but a few.

One thing we really loved was sitting at the breakfast table in the kitchen watching the birds feeding from the bird table just outside - we saw many different kinds!

We have been staying in holiday cottages for about 20 years and I have to say this was one of the best.

Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Uniqueness, watching the birds outside
Liked least: Finding a few spiders lurking in the bedrooms (and swiftly removing them!)
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret...
1 review
“Mrs”
Reviewed 10 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were captivated by the pictures when booking to stay at the chancel, and the property didn't disappoint. It's an absolutely beautiful place to stay, well presented and very comfortable and relaxing. We have already passed the details on to several family members and friends, and will definitely be returning ourselves. The only thing missing for me was a radio/music player, other than that the chancel truly was a home from home.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicky S
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautifully unique”
Reviewed 2 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

We loved our stay here. The Chancel is a unique property inside and out and central to many of the places of interest. Inside it is comfortable and well equipped with everything you need for a home from home experience. Especially nice were the extra touches of flowers on the kitchen table, a huge range of games and dvds plus pre-stamped postcards ready for sending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing