We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well appointed cottage”

Review of Eagles Nest

Eagles Nest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Eagles Nest
Entrance Hall Sitting Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Eagles Nest
Entrance Hall
Sitting Room
Sitting Room with inglenook fireplace and wood burner
Kitchen & Dining Area
Dining Area
Bedroom
Bedroom
Bedroom with ensuite
Bathroom
Bedroom
Eagles Nest
Hot tub and patio area
Eagles Nest
Games Room
Well
Outside dining area with hot tub
Eagles Nest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RJ2DJ
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Well appointed cottage”
Reviewed 12 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Our friends were getting married at the Tithe Barn on the Symondsbury Estate and so we stayed here for 3 nights as it was the minimum stay. Was perfect for what we wanted. THe cottage is cosy and well equipped. The kitchen is big enough to comfortably cook and eat in, whilst the lounge is cosy with log burning fire if the evenings get cold. The games room has a good table tennis table, and slightly wonky pool/table football table! There's very little bad to say about this property - everything was comfy and as close to a "home away from home" as you could expect.

As mentioned in other reviews, the wi-fi is not great, but if you try really hard you can find patches of 4G around the property (on O2 anyway).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Good sized bedrooms
Liked least: Wi-fi speed poor
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2016
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Eagles Nest! It is a lovely spot, sorry you experienced issues with the wifi, we continually try to improve it but have great difficulty due to the remote location of the property. We do hope you visit again someday!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pamw23201...
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking stay!”
Reviewed 9 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The cottage was even better than any photos we saw beforehand! It was absolutely stunning! The cottage was immaculate inside and the decor was really beautiful. Each room we went in was just amazing and there were many ooh's and aah's from all the family
The views and tranquility it offered were brilliant! Hot tub was so relaxing and in the perfect setting. You could hear a pin drop it was so peaceful. This is truly the best cottage we have ever stayed at, if only we could afford to buy it! The weekend was a surprise for my Son's 40th and he loved it! Plenty to see in that area too, including a wine tour just up the rd at Furleigh wines. Me thinks another weekend will be on the cards!
Thank you to Symondsbury for an excellent stay!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: nothing to dislike at all!!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Eagles Nest, it is a lovely spot. Its great to get feedback from our guests as it makes it all worthwhile!

We look forward to welcoming you back to Symondsbury in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aladyofbr...
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed 2 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Just returned from Eagles Nest for a fabulous weekend with 5 girl friends and 2 four legged friends.
The cottage is outstanding, and one of the best equipped cottages we have ever stayed in. Spotlessly clean and the welcome pack was full of delicious goodies!
A very spacious cottage which cannot be faulted!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2016
Thanks so much for your lovely review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Symondsbury in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M
Andover, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place for a New Year's House Party”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Eagles Nest for 4 nights over the New Year and couldn't have been happier with the accommodation. All 3 bedrooms are extremely comfortable - lovely big beds, views from all the windows, cosy towels and robes and plenty of space to store clothes etc. The sitting room was great and, bearing in mind the winds and rainy weather we had, the wood burner was a real plus. We spent a lot of time socialising etc in the spacious kitchen/diner which was very well equipped. In fact the only thing missing was a medium sized casserole dish! There was also a fabulous welcome hamper waiting for us on arrival.
My only cautionary comment would be to say that, as mentioned in the property info, the Wifi is very limited (we never managed to receive anything via Wifi and used 3G mostly), so if you were wanting to do any important e-communication, make sure you have internet on your phone.
Also, although the cottage is part of the Symondsbury estate, it is a good 1 1/2 miles outside Symondsbury down single track (and in our case, very muddy) lanes, so an evening walk to the excellent Ilchester Arms in the village is quite a challenge. In the summer this would be a very pleasant stroll though.
Due to the stormy weather we didn't use the hot tub or trampoline sadly - but these would definitely be a plus as they are a short distance form the kitchen patio doors.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We're sorry to hear that you had issues with the Wifi, unfortunately it is an issue at Eagles Nest and when the weather is against us it does tend to interfere even further, so we do apologise for that. It is located a little way from the village and I should imagine it was challenging to walk in due to the stormy weather we have recently had.

We're pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Symondsbury Estate in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma_Ande...
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Traditional character with 5 star comfort”
Reviewed 3 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Eagle's Nest is the most beautiful and comfortable cottage we have rented. It is enormous for 6 people and a dog (it has a large garden with a gate that has been thoughtfully modified so small dogs cannot escape) and the best appointed kitchen we have come across. The décor is tasteful and expensive; the most gorgeous curtains! There are horses in the field next door - fortunately our dog didn't bark at them unless our daughter gave them too much attention. The hot-tub, trampoline and welcome pack put this into five star territory. The Games room could be improved though. If you don't expect Wi-Fi (or Netflix, iPlayer etc) you won't be disappointed (Symondsbury café is the nearest hot spot) and, if you plan to arrive in the dark, make sure you know the route - it is up a narrow sunken lane (with occasional passing places) about 1.5 miles from the centre of Symondsbury and you may wonder if you are really going the right way! It is secluded, so plan your shopping in advance. There is a Waitrose in Bridport which we found useful, and we had several meals at the Symondsbury café which is outstanding - we can recommend the pork roast and sea bass with pesto! The walk up Colmer's Hill is wonderful, and we enjoyed the art book and other reading that was provided in the cottage. What a fascinating insight into the history and planned future of the estate. We enjoyed days out fossil hunting at Lyme Regis and Charmouth and walking up Golden Cap (though some of the driving on narrow roads required nerves of steel). On a bright autumn day, the beauty of this area is truly incomparable.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautifully decorated and equipped
Liked least: Effectively no wi-fi so couldn't research local attractions or check traffic conditions etc
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Nov 2015
What a lovely review! Thank you so much for writing it! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and this review makes all of our hard work worthwhile! We're also pleased to learn you enjoyed your meals at the caf�, and also enjoyed the local areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing