We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Place for a Family holiday”

Review of Bilshay Farmhouse

Bilshay Farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Bilshay Farmhouse
Sitting Room Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
Bilshay Farmhouse
Sitting Room
Kitchen
Views from the kitchen window
Dining Area
Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Bedroom
Triple Bedroom
Ensuite Bathroom
Main Bathroom
Bilshay Farmhouse
Patio
Garden with hot tub
Views from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bridport, Dorset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hilary A
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Perfect Place for a Family holiday”
Reviewed 28 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We enjoyed a wonderful week with our extended family, and assorted friends, in this beautiful old farm house with stunning views. We had everything we needed to enjoy a problem free week. The hot tub in the garden was great and even the weather was perfect.
Lots to do and see all around, especially if you are keen walkers. I am sure we will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill S
Uckfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“We wish we could have stayed longer in this beautiful spot”
Reviewed 13 May 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Bilshay farmhouse easily lived up to all our expectations. The location was perfect with wonderful views from the huge garden, Very well equipped with many extra details such as the large welcome hamper and luxury bathrobes. Well designed and styled, it suited all our ages from 3 months to 65 years. The owners were helpful with our specific needs (extra high chair; bed arrangements).
All Symondsbury properties in this area are quite pricey but well worth the extra for the attention to detail, overall size and provision of amenities. The coast, beautiful local villages and towns, cliff top and country walks are all close by, but the trampoline and hot tub in the lovely garden meant we didn't have to go anywhere!
We were sad to leave and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The adults appreciated the great kitchen; the children loved the trampoline
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JnP267
Reading
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Guaranteed a fantastic holiday at Bilshay!”
Reviewed 25 March 2013 for a stay in March 2013

My friends and I wanted a relaxing long weekend break with a bit of luxury - and that is exactly what we got. The rooms are spacious and well equipped, the bathrooms are gorgeous, all rooms very clean. Lovely touch to have dressing gowns available also! Massive cooker, 6 gas rings and 2 main ovens (2 smaller ones too). The fireplace was nice and cosy, although the house was lovely and toasty warm which was handy as it was very chilly outside! Didnt stop us enjoying the gas BBQ though! The hot tub was great too, fantastic views all around, trampoline available if you want it.

Only downside if Im being picky is that the games room could do with being a bit more updated, it is in a little barn area so is very cold, the ping pong table is fine but the pool table was quite all and old, and not very level - however this is a minor issue.

Fantastic place, would love to come and stay again!Thanks to everyone at Symondsbury farm for a fantastic stay, for being so helpful during the booking process and by answering all of my many questions!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: hot tub and views
Liked least: games room
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Teathers
Windsor, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage with beautiful views”
Reviewed 26 February 2013 for a stay in February 2013

Very comfortable and spacious cottage. We enjoyed watching the sunset from the garden, which even in February was glorious, especially whilst viewing from the hot tub.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judy M
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful, peaceful place for a super holiday”
Reviewed 4 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We wanted a large holiday house to accommodate 3 generations, and Bilshay was perfect with plenty of space for everyone, upstairs and down. It has two ensuite bathrooms and well distributed bedrooms, so we all had our privacy when we wanted it. But there were lots of opportunities to do things together - table tennis, pool table, hot tub, and a wonderful farmhouse dining table on which to play games.
Big comfy sofas in the sitting room were much appreciated after a day's fossil hunting on the beach - we were enthused by the chap who led a guided walk and told us what to look for. We found him in the helpful box of tourist leaflets provided next to the useful landline phone - a generous touch.
The house was superbly equipped and comfortably furnished, perfect for family living. We didn't really want to go out much, it was so nice sitting on the terrace or in the hot tub admiring the view. However the seaside beckoned since it was so close, and Lyme Regis was a must. We shall have to return to explore the cliff top walks and all the other energetic activities we might have done if we hadn't had such lovely weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hot tub - an unexpected pleasure
Liked least: No shaving point anywhere so bristly husband
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing