We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (564)
Filter reviews
564 results
Traveller rating
365
147
30
15
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
365
147
30
15
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews whirlpool bath west bay hotel cat traditional hotel sunday lunch public areas excellent hotel excellent room varied menu very pleasant stay three nights specials board large room one night stay full english long weekend comfy bed
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 564 reviews
Reviewed 17 September 2018

We stayed for a golf weekend and found the management and team really supportive, there insights to the town were great and the hotel was perfect for the golf and to get into town. first class!! the rooms were nice and had a nice touch with the tv in the bath.

Stayed: September 2018
Thank prunnert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you all so much
It was pleasure to have had you stay with us and we really do hope to see you again on your next visit

kind regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018

We arrived at Haddon House Hotel for a long weekend and were greeted by a friendly receptionist who showed us to our delightful room and made sure we had a much needed cup of tea. The staff in this hotel are very friendly and obliging and the proprietors frequently involved. Our room was large, clean and well presented. We dined in the restaurant where the food is exceptionally good and there is a good choice. The breakfast is of similar standard. They have a first class chef at this hotel. Unfortunately the standards are let down by the use of white plastic table cloths and paper napkins. This might be the industry standard for breakfasts but we feel it is not acceptable for evening service. For this reason I could not award a five star rating.
Otherwise we were well looked after in a friendly and efficient manner in a hotel with plenty of parking in a good location

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank K M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2018

Thank you for your feedback

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us and thought so highly of our staff.
The reason for the wipeable table toppers is simply to reduce laundry costs as the slightest mark we were changing them almost every time. It was a difficult decision as we were not wanting to push our prices up further due to this hence the reason for choosing these. However we will monitor it and if we need a rethink ;after then we shall.

We do hope to see you both again soon

regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2018 via mobile

Thanks to everyone yesterday for making my partner’s 60th birthday lunch so special. The steaks were terrific and the extra effort you put into everything from the confetti on the table onwards was just brilliant. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank 313vivienneg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us a review.
We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and also thought so highly of the staff.
Please do look us up when you are next in the area

kind regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2018 via mobile

We booked the Haddon Hotel for two nights after a last minute trip to West Bay. It was a lovely, clean hotel with friendly staff and good breakfast. The hotel is quite old fashioned but well kept. We stayed in room 4 which was a really decent size with a separate dressing area and good sized bathroom.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank chris_2437115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Thank you for your feedback
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and do hope to be able to welcome you both back again soon

regards

Darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018 via mobile

We booked a twin room for three nights. When we arrived, we discovered that they were giving us twin beds on the first night, but a double on the next two nights. We moved to another B&B for the next two nights The mattresses were very soft and bouncy, the pillows synthetic. The shower was in the bath. The restaurant did not appear to be very popular. We had a sweet waitress but she did not seem to be very well trained. I had hake; it was tasteless. The ice creams were good. For about £50, one would have expected linen table napkins, not cheap paper ones. B&B was £160. The best thing about the hotel was the location, but we will not be returning.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Joanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joanne R, Public Relations Manager at Haddon House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

We are sorry that you felt the hotel did not meet your expectations
When you booked initially, you were i believe informed that we could only take the booking if you were to move after the first night to another room as we were so busy and did not have a room free for 2 consecutive nights.
With regards to the bedding, we are sorry that you thought the mattresses were a little soft.
A mattress is of course purely personal preference and we all have our own take on firmness.
The pillows have to be synthetic pillows due to many people having allergies to down filling we usually have people checking that we don't have down pillows never the other way around so that is a first for us.
We must say our restaurant is usually very busy averaging 30-40 each night so i can only assume you stayed when we had several guests attending the local wedding that took place.
The hake is usually a very good seller so I'm sorry it was 'tasteless' which is very strange indeed as all our fish is sourced practically on our doorstep.
The reason behind the wipe clean linen is simply to reduce linen costs as our linen loads were becoming far too high. we did at one stage remove the linen altogether as some restaurants do however our clientele preferred the table cloth look so we had to meet halfway, not that anyone has mentioned this as an issue before.
We are sorry that you won't return again and of course wish you all the best

darren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews