We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (127)
Filter reviews
127 results
Traveller rating
113
12
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
12
1
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed mother earth healthy breakfast river running fruit salad plant based rushing water big mugs wonderful hosts slept like a baby sense of peace lots of lovely touches interesting shops babbling brook peaceful haven preserves feel so welcome
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 127 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2018

First of all I just want to say you will not be disappointed by this B&B - I 100% recommend The Old Mill House. We loved our stay here. Located walking distance from the high street - Perfect location to explore the Jurassic Coastline. The owners Fiona and Malcolm were great, able to give us recommendations of places to eat and things to do.
Room was clean - and loved the fact we could hear the stream. Very Relaxing!!
Lastly, I just wanted to say the breakfast was the best!!!!
Really did have a great weekend at the Old Mill House. Gareth & Bex.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G-HARP-CRAWLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaSouthWest, Owner at The Old Mill House, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

We would like to thank you both for choosing to stay at The Old Mill House. We loved meeting you both and are bowled over by your wonderful review. We try very hard to give our guests the best experience and it delights us to see what you have written and the fact that we have been able to get things right for you. Hope to have you stay another time. Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

The Old Mill House is easily accesible with the Jurrasic coaster bus. We used public transport all the way, via a train connection to Dorchester and from there the Jurrasic coaster that stops in front of the door. The same bus also provided us with access to the major sites and great hiking locations. The city centre of Bridport is a few minutes walking and beautiful West Bay (beach) is only a short hike away.

We were welcomed by Fiona and Malcolm that literally open the door of their home and heart. They put all their love and care in the guests and BnB. It's amazing. I asked for a vegan breakfast and that was no problem at all, we got fresh fruit every morning, plant based milks to choose from, variety of cereals and marmelades for toast.
Any questions we had, they were very eager to help.

The room and bathroom were very tidy and beautifully decorated.
Next to the wonderful house, they also have a lovely garden. The river flows through it and the garden is full with beautiful places to sit and enjoy nature.

So a great value for the price and a must visit on the area!!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaSouthWest, Owner at The Old Mill House, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2018

Thanks Emmy
It's great that you have taken the time and trouble to tell others about your positive experience of the local public transport, how convenient it is to visit the Jurrasic beaches and coast line, plus how close we are to the town. We will always do our best to cater for all our guests that choose our type of B&B, Vegetarians, Vegans, those who have food and milk intolerances etc... And of course those who just like a home from home - experience! We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at The Old Mill House and we feel very lucky to be running a B&B, where we get to share our home .. all be it briefly ..... with such lovely folk like yourselves.
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018 via mobile

My wife and I enjoyed a most beautiful and peaceful stay here for 2 nights recently, which was very unexpected due to everything else in town being booked, but luckily for us the old Mill had a last moment cancellation!
It's a B & B run by Fiona and her husband and they are the kindest, most accommodating people, who's hard work and passion is both tasteful and comforting beyond my ability to articulate sufficiently.
They are vegan and spiritually conscious and aware in life as the decor and art will testify. The grounds along with the house have been completely revamped and afford a sense of peace and tranquillity that is rarely experienced.
I was emotionally moved by the placement of being settled just outside two lovely slow flowing streams, one next to a public path and the other nestled amongst the ancient trees and multiple gardens located on the property. Wildlife and song birds woke us each morning amongst a magical place of faeries and angels. Kindness and peace are in abundance here. It was an honour and a privilege to be able to stay here in the beautiful four poster room and to feel so welcome.
Highly recommended as a peaceful haven in the midst of the city. A total Zen hidden away from a very busy road.
Please come and enjoy this magical spot.
Peace and health.
Namaste.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank sfro67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

Stayed for one night on 11th August. Fiona and Malcolm are super hosts of a really lovely guest house. Nothing was too much trouble,we had a cup of tea on arrival in the conservatory. Very comfortable,large room. Excellent breakfast with fresh fruit,toast and homemade conserves.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chaddersShepperton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

We booked very last minute as we were supposed to be camping but the weather turned! Fiona and Malcolm could not have been more welcoming. It was a wonderful experience and one that we would definitely repeat. Can't recommend enough.

Room Tip: Their four poster room is fantastic
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FionaSouthWest, Manager at The Old Mill House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thanks you. We loved meeting you and we do hope you manage to repeat the experience, sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews