We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (166)
Filter reviews
166 results
Traveller rating
121
29
10
4
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
121
29
10
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub crab starter triple cooked chips almond milk exceptional food enjoyable meal brioche bun palmers ales country lanes stopped for lunch home made hardy country chorizo everyday life interesting menu pudding under new management
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 166 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2018

We found this small country pub through Booking.com, and, as usual it was superb. Very comfortable room and a good evening meal as well as a good breakfast. The landlord and his wife were most welcoming.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank nicholaswalks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

This is the first time back to the Shoes at Powerstock in 4-5 years and we met the landlord who was very welcoming we felt that the food was work in progress and we are sure that they will make a success of it

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Ted-the-parson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2018 via mobile

After a days travelling, walked to the village local and wasn’t disappointed. The terrace at the back is beautiful, overlooking the valley and church, perfect for a pint. The food was cracking too, a nice steak, excellent burger and the kids shared a fish and chips, leaving nothing. The Eton Mess pudding I had was probably the nicest I’ve had and the kids shared a brownie, again - disappointingly - leaving nothing. We’re here for 5 more nights and will 100% return. Staff were lovely and offered local ale and Birra Moretti on tap to keep me happy. Great place, would recommend for tasty, wholesome pub food. 5 stars.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank Adam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018

My husband and I rented a cottage for the week just around the corner from this place and I have to say it made our holiday. Unsure what to expect from the outside, inside it is a completely unpretentious pub serving truly exceptional food with simply breathtaking views from the garden at the rear. The owner was delightful and obviously took pride in what he did. We ate here four times in a week! The crab starter and mussels were particular favourites. Would love to return, highly recommend!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank sarahlloyd1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights over the late May bank holiday weekend. We were the 1st people to try out the new room in the main building - some very minor finishing touches were still needed but the room was lovely, quiet & very comfortable. Martin & his wife Agnes were very welcoming, looked after us perfectly & made sure we had everything we needed during our stay. Martin reduced our bill for us as he said the room wasn’t 100% complete which was a very kind & much appreciated gesture. We had dinner in the pub twice & the food was excellent. Breakfast each day was also extremely good & full of local produce. A delightful place run by delightful people & I very much look forward to visiting again soon!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank SueJ1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews