We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (53)
Filter reviews
53 results
Traveller rating
27
10
8
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
10
8
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews home from home home made car park warm welcome chickens village pubs flowers garden
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 53 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

This place It’s not my cup of tea.
Too much...of everything! It’s like time stopped there long time ago. I did not feel very comfortable and did not sleep well.

My friends on the other had loved it! They say they would not be able to see this in their country. For them it was novelty, and different.

Owner is very nice, breakfast was good although a bit greasy to my likings.
Friends loved home made orange marmalade

It not much more I can say. See pictures to get the idea

Date of stay: April 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank eXploringWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2017 via mobile

While looking at random for somewhere to stay for just one night came across this gem. Quirky and quaint, what you see is what you get, a proper home from home with a great welcome in a stunning old farmhouse property. Wonky creaky floors and doors did not detract in any way from the olde world charm, flowers everywhere, in vases, on the curtain fabric and the most beautifully maintained exterior and garden. Geese and chickens wander at will in the farmyard car park, often escaping into the road. Wonderful full Dorset breakfast with your own cafetière of coffee, and plenty of toast and homemade marmalade to follow. Highly recommended, would stay again, worth every penny of the £80 we paid for our charming double room and breakfast. Not suited if you only want minimal and modern, but evident from the outset what you will get, and well worth a visit.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 436heidiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

Thank you for a lovely stay . The rooms were very pretty and we slept really well . We stayed to visit the nearby gardens with my parents . Wonderful experience and very interesting ornaments and tales of the past and book of travelling teddy bear .Delicious breakfast . We were very well looked after .

Date of stay: October 2016
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

This is a very strange B&B .Some people may call it quaint but every single room is crowded with dolls , various toys , ornaments, large dolls houses that there is little room left -like being in a museum -the dolls have staring eyes which is a bit off putting especially in the bathroom. The bedroom was very small, the bed very uncomfortable and the room was stuffy. Parking in the front yard was quite tricky .
The owner and her daughter were extremely nice and friendly and the breakfast was superb. Also the various chickens , ducks and geese where very entertaining-especially the Cockerell with the fancy hairstyle . It was reasonably priced .

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wilson015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2016

This is a great place to stay. Wendy made us very welcome The house is wall-to-wall charm. Comfortable beds, quiet rooms, great breakfast. Loved the chickens and the horses in the yard. Abbots bury is a lovely village and you can walk to the swannery from East Farm. It's a great location for exploring the local countryside and the coast.

Room tip: There are only three rooms - all are good.
Date of stay: August 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thefrances2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews