We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A jewel in the crown of unspoilt Devon”
Overcott from the Rose Garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Overcott from the Rose Garden
Front Terrace Blooms
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Overcott from the Rose Garden
Front Terrace
Blooms
View from the conservatory at the rear
A glimpse of the front garden
Aga cooked breakfasts!
View through the front door
Dining room all set for breakfast
Breakfast!
Through to the en-suite
Inside the en-suite
Inside the en-suite
The Suite has three rooms, the bedroom, en-suite shower room and sitting room.
A view from the suite window
Your very own private sitting room, part of the suite
The rear of the house
Part of the garden
A view through the garden
Plenty of lawns to laze on
The Lime Walk
More garden
The Snug, for reading or playing a board game or two
Projector room to watch films or listen to music
The 'Secret' Garden for romantics picnics in complete privacy!
He lives here too!
and so do these boys...
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
South Molton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mary S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A jewel in the crown of unspoilt Devon”
Reviewed 7 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Overcott House is set in the heart of stunningly beautiful north Devon, not far from Exmoor. The house is set in lovely gardens and offers exclusive luxury accommodation for its guests comprising a bedroom with breath taking views, ensuite shower room, two sitting rooms, one with TV, and a comfortable ‘cinema’ with a collection of DVDs and CDs. Breakfast is delicious and served by delightful hosts, Julie and Vaughan, with a cheery will to please. Vaughan provided a chauffeur driven service in his comfortable 4x4 to the nearby Masons Arms with its Michelin star restaurant enabling us to enjoy its excellent food and wine to the full. This is a luxury B&B like no other; a jewel in the crown of unspoilt Devon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2015
Thank you for your lovely review! We both enjoyed your company and we're glad you enjoyed your stay. You're welcome back anytime you wish! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heatherpe...
Brixham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Paradise in South Molton”
Reviewed 5 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Have just returned from a 3 nights stay at this amazing very personal luxury B & B. Everything was just perfect and we were both made to feel very welcome by Julie and Vaughan.Everything that we could have asked for was available. It was so lovely to lie in bed looking out over the immaculate garden to the fields beyond. Thank you for a wonderful stay and we hope to be back soon

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Aug 2015
Ah thank you Jane, you were both wonderful guests and are welcome here anytime you wish. x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheShoema...
England
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“perfect get away from it all !”
Reviewed 12 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This is the best small bed & breakfast we have stayed in. We booked it because we were visiting The Masons Arms for dinner & Overcott House looked the best accommodation in the area by far. Julie & Vaughan were great hosts & even offer a free taxi service to & from The Masons Arms (which we took full advantage of) .
The house is luxurious in amazing gardens & every need is catered for. It is perfect if you want peace & quiet but only a short distance from the main road. We only wish we could have stayed longer & next time we will.
We can't recommend Overcott House highly enough & will return.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Wow!! What a great review! So happy you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to you coming back for longer next time! Thanks again, you're welcome any time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate W
Ditcheat, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Just the Job!”
Reviewed 3 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Our children bought us a stay here as a Christmas present.
From our first contact to going home everything was fantastic.
We made our choices for breakfast and selected our complimentary bottle of wine.
Even though Overcott House is some distance off the road up a track, we found it with no trouble, the directions given being spot on.
Overcott House is a tranquil haven set in lovely grounds, with extensive views from the guest bedroom.
After Vaughan had taken our bags to our room we were then given a tour of what was at our disposal during our stay.
Close to the bedroom was our own private bathroom and then a sitting room with settee, TV and all the usual hot drink makings. In the fridge was a lovely bottle of Rose and a bowl of scrummy chocs.
Downstairs was another snug - where we were served with a delicious Devon Cream tea.Its Devon so the jam should be on top of the cream!
Off the snug was old dairy which has been converted into what could be described as the entertainment room.
A huge screen and a pile of DVD's will keep you entertained if the weather turns nasty,
take a look at the fantastic butchers blocks here. These are hand made by Vaughan...
As this was an anniversary trip we booked dinner at the Masons Arms, a Michelin starred pub nearby.
Vaughan drove us there and collected us later.
After a very comfortable nights sleep we rose completely rested.
An extensive and delicious breakfast set us up for our onwards journey.
In a nutshell Julie and Vaughan are the perfect hosts, providing everything that their guests require.
Spotlessly clean, warm, cosy and spacious accommodation make this a great retreat to the country.
Our only regret was that we stayed just the one night!

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Mar 2015
Ah Geoff & Kate, we wished you could stay longer too! There's always next time, you are welcome here anytime you wish! Thank you for the wonderful review, we appreciate that very much. See you soon! x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BristolVi...
Bristol
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for a relaxing getaway”
Reviewed 25 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Overcott House is a real treasure of a B&B. It is off the beaten track, so benefits from being lovely and peaceful, yet is within approx 20 mins drive of a selection of lovely pubs and around 30 mins to one hour away from lots of attractions and places to visit.
The suite itself was spotless and spacious and all our needs were thought of. There is also a fab cinema snug, where you can relax and enjoy films on a big screen (great for rainy afternoons!)
Julie and Vaughan can also offer great tips on where to go, eat and explore.
Breakfast was fantastic - a great selection is on offer and you'll certainly be able to fuel yourself up for a day of exploring! If you are eating in one of the local pubs, it's best to book a day or so in advance to ensure you can get a table as they seem to be busy, even during off peak. Great pub food can be found from a range of local establishments. We ate at the Poltimore Inn, the Stag's Head Inn and had a delicious Sunday roast at the London Inn, Molland. All were great.
We definitely recommend Overcott House and would love to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Excellent service and attention to detail
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2015
Thank you, we loved having you both here and really hope you come to stay again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing