We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Tawton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Nick M
2 reviews
“Ok, but ...”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The cottage is nice but I would think twice in bringing young children. I accept the choice of location is our fault but there isn't much to do for little ones nearby so we would have been better being closer to the coast. However, really lovely and quiet and set in a pleasant village.

The decor is adequate but the overall cleanliness in some areas e.g. High chair leaves a lot to be desired. The property benefits from a bit of clever photography. It is a cottage after all so expect small and you won't be surprised.

Extremely disappointed that the owners decided they couldn't come to the cottage to replace the 5 bulbs which had blown. This really affected our enjoyment of the property. The cottage also smells of damp. This may be due to it's age or something more sinister but either way, it smells.

Not great for a tall person but again, I wholly accept responsibility for our choice!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review.
I'm sorry you weren't more satisfied with your stay at Larksworthy Cottage and have acknowledged your complaints; our cottage management team is usually very efficient at ensuring that everything is working and clean.
We are rather disappointed that the decor is described as only being "adequate" as we have had the downstairs completely redecorated in the last four months. Also, we had it checked for damp and it definitely isn't so, as you suggest, the smell must just be its 400 years of history.
Although you felt that the cottage was small, I can assure you that, having stayed in many holiday cottages before we bought Larksworthy, it is actually spacious by comparison with most two bedroom cottages, especially the older ones, and I believe the photographs to be an accurate representation of its size.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jonnyd9a
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage.”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Had a fabulous week at larksworthy cottage and did not want to leave such a quaint cottage in a brilliant location close to the village which has everything you will need cottage is very well equipped snug and cozy. Had lunch at Kirsty's in village please go it was lovely freshly made food 10/10. Also went to the duke of York in iddesliegh brilliant Sunday roast. Only issue but nothing bad is maybe bit better pillows as quite skinny and uncomfortable for your neck but we will be returning as feel in love with this cottage and village.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heleentr...
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago for a stay in May 2018
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing