We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Christmas Break”
other travellers have booked this property
Ada's Terrace, Mortehoe.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Ada's Terrace, Mortehoe.
View across the gardens to National Trust land and the Sea View from the rear of the property
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Ada's Terrace, Mortehoe.
View across the gardens to National Trust land and the Sea
View from the rear of the property
Ilfracombe Harbour
Open fireplace
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jokerplay...
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect Christmas Break”
Reviewed 30 December 2013 for a stay in December 2013

The first thing I'd like to say is that the photos don't do this property justice, the view from the house is fantastic! On entry to the house my family and I all commented how cosy and welcoming it was, talking of welcomes, we were greeted by a lovely neighbour who wished us a happy stay and informed us everything was set up inside and handed us a key. We were delighted to find that she had left a fire on to take the chill off, which believe me was needed with the storm that was blowing outside. She had also placed some Christmas lights around the fire and baked some food with mulled wine, fantastic. The house is basic, but not that basic that it prevented us from having a fantastic Christmas break there, everything we needed was supplied and more. I would recommend this property to anyone but if the weather is windy, be prepared for the whole house to shake along with the windows. Thank you to Colin and his neighbours for a perfect Christmas break.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Rattling and draughty windows
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brigette5...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Recommended a relaxed homely weekend away”
Reviewed 9 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

Comfortable, home from home really enjoyed our stay with great views and location. Friendly neighbours.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Liked best: Location, friendly locals
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
reidy1
Derbyshire
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A wonderful location with spectacular views”
Reviewed 29 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013

The cottage is located in a fabulous small village with all amenities close by. Breathtaking views over Woolacombe Bay, Lundy Island and easy access to some wonderful walks. Accommodation is basic, but clean and tidy and was just what we were looking for. Lovely enclosed garden to the front with seating area to enjoy the views and the sunset in the evenings. Local pubs serving good food, local beer and even a local restaurant selling takeaway shellfish platters to eat whilst enjoying the views.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daniel D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Peaceful cottage in a great location.”
Reviewed 6 August 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Ada's terrace is a great little retreat. We spent a week in July using it as our base to visit the surrounding coast line and it really is in a great location. It's set in the peaceful village of Morthoe away from the hustle and bustle of Woolacombe.

Morthoe is a lovely village. It has a nice pub, cafe, tea room and corner shop for last minute supplies. When it's time to head to beach you are spoilt for choice. Between the cottage and the huge beach at Woolacombe bay, there are 3 smaller bays that you can visit should you want a slightly less hectic day. Woolacombe has all the facilities for a family day out and parking for £7 a day right on the beach. The cottage is set on a big hill that has buses going up and down between Woolacombe and the Morthoe if you decide you don't want to walk it. Be warned they seemed to stop very early though so if you aren't up for a walk, keep that in mind.

We are a an older family, all adults. So had no excuse when it came to walking and it took about 20 minutes to walk to Woolacombe going down hill. Walking up hill we all felt fitter by the end if the week.

As you would expect being in Devon it's also short drive from many other picturesque towns and we spent some time in illfracombe where you can get a boat tour of the coast looking for seals and dolphins and visit the Tunnels beach.

The cottage itself is in a lovely row of cottages set into the hill. The views are spectacular and with the private garden being at the front of the house you really get to make the most of the view. Parking in the area in general is expensive so having a allocated space at the end of the garden is ideal. There is only space for 1 car though. Inside everything was clean and tidy. There's Wifi which is a real bonus in an area of the country with next to no mobile signal. There's a double and a twin bedroom upstairs and two fold out beds down stairs which meant all 6 if us could fit in with no problem. With 6 adults the one bathroom and small chest fridge/freezer did make things awkward at time but that is a minor niggle in such a great little cottage.

Overall it's a great cottage with friendly neighbours and other holiday makers in the row making it feel safe and secure. We all had an amazing time and the location is truly fantastic.

Highly recommend a visit and I know we will be back for a second time in the future.

Thank you for a great getaway!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Tiny freezer meant no less for ice cream!!! :)
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$71
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing