We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The Perfect Venue in the most beautiful village!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Buttery

front of terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
front of terrace
front room kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
front of terrace
front room
kitchen
kitchen
bedroom 1 with private balcony
bedroom 1
rear private terrace
rear private terrace with sea view
bathroom 2
Mortehoe church
ground floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
1st floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
2nd floor floorplan (2a is The Buttery)
Buttery kitchen with 14-seater table configuration - can also be configured to seat 18 or 10 or 8.
view of Mortehoe from hill to rear
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Mortehoe, Woolacombe, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kelly m
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The Perfect Venue in the most beautiful village!”
Reviewed 19 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We've just had the most amazing weekend at The Crescent. We were already in love with Mortehoe having stayed in the village many a time of the last 5 years. We celebrated our wedding weekend at the house and it was perfect as it meant the bride and groom could sleep in seperate houses the night before. The house is beautiful, the decor is fab, the layout is fantastic and it has absolutely everything you could need. Can't wait for our next family celebration so we can go back. The communication and customer service from Dom the owner was excellent.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2015
Great to hear that the wedding weekend went so well .... CONGRATULATIONS! :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wythallma...
birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A lovely house”
Reviewed 12 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Possibly the best holiday accommodation we have ever stayed in. It is a very spacious, stylish and well-equipped house in a pretty village with good pubs, an excellent chippie, a useful general store for basics and a children’s playground. With three bathrooms, a downstairs loo and a massive kitchen it was ideal for our three generation family holiday.
You are minutes away from some lovely coastal walks and it’s a 15 minute downhill walk to the lovely sandy beaches at Woolacombe which offers traditional seaside fun without the “tat” that often goes with it.
Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the whole ambience
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pauliegot...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely place, lovely house, recommended”
Reviewed 4 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great stuff, thanks for a great holiday. Nice walking near by, pub opposite is friendly, good views all round. Hope to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CACHALL
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect house, perfect location, perfect views.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I booked the Buttery for my Sister in laws hen weekend in August and had a wonderful time.

The house was clean and spacious with big bedrooms and lots of bathrooms. The kitchen was fantastic and catered for all our needs. There were 12 of us staying and not once did it feel cramped.

The location was fantastic and the pub across the road is also worth a visit or 3!

The only negative thing i have to say is that there were clear signs of damp in the Master Bedroom, this was raised with the owners and i have been told that this is being fixed. It wasn't an issue and is to be expected in a property of this age but it did look slightly off putting. Overall this was a very minor negative point in an overall fantastic stay.

Thanks Dom - I hope to be back some day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The Balcony Views
Liked least: Slight mould in master bedroom
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Sep 2014
Hi, thanks for the review and we definitely agree that there was a problem with a damp (not mouldy I think) wall during your stay, for which many apologies. The house has some 60cm-thick walls so when a wall gets wet (in this case a neighbour's gutter failed in a storm) it can take many weeks to dry out ... and until it is dried out no amount of redecorating will be effective. We target damp problems as soon as they appear, starting with the root cause and ending with redecoration, but in a big old Atlantic-facing house there are occasional instances of peeling paint.
Yes the Chich is a great pub and getting better every year!
We hope to welcome you back to The Buttery again one day.
:) Dom and Iona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa M
Appledore, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday home in a fantastic village!”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

10 of us stayed her for a long weekend at the beginning of August to celebrate a 30th birthday. We had an amazing time, everything was perfect, not one complaint from any of us! It is a fantastic house in a great spot run by lovely helpful people. I would most definitely stay again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing