We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous Devon Retreat”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Kelly Mill Cottage

Kelly Mill Cottage, nr. Tavistock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kelly Mill Cottage, nr. Tavistock
The entrance hall The large open fireplace in the sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Kelly Mill Cottage, nr. Tavistock
The entrance hall
The large open fireplace in the sitting room
A beautiful space in which to relax and unwind
The downstairs twin room (available as a super-king double on request)
The bathroom is on the ground floor
Complementary toiletries by 'Faith in Nature'
Local produce and fresh cut flowers are part of the warm welcome at Kelly Mill Cottage
Kelly Mill Cottage has its own Lavazza coffee machine
'Wow!' is the usual reaction to our beautiful master bedroom
The view over the sitting room from the mezzanine bedroom
Kelly Mill Cottage sits next to the main house, where the family live
Children will love the 15 acres of open space!
Homemade and local produce are part of the warm welcome at Kelly Mill Cottage
Tea and homemade cake is served in the garden on request
Walk out of the front door straight into this breathtaking landscape!
The river at Kelly Mill is a great source of natural fun. We have a tyre swing too!
Kelly Mill has a biodynamically managed garden and wildflower meadows
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Lifton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
John M
2 reviews
“Fabulous Devon Retreat”
Reviewed 15 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Thank you Matt and Laura for a lovely stay. We had a four nights at this lovely accommodation, it has a super open fire and Matt and Laura were helpful and very friendly. Fantastically located for cycling and walking. Beautiful rural setting. You won't be disappointed with your stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Secluded location
Liked least: The rain!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thank you John. It was a pleasure to meet you and we're delighted that you enjoyed your stay at The Old Shippon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cottage
Liked least: The weather
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Feb 2016
Thank you for reviewing The Old Shippon. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Our fingers crossed for some sunshine when you return as there really are some stunning walks right from our doorstep!
See you later in the year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Rosa A
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly beautiful place to stay”
Reviewed 12 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I would definitely describe this as the perfect holiday getaway! Not only is it surrounded by incredible scenery, the interior of The Old Shippon is lovely and makes you feel at home. The fireplace is fantastic! I would be perfectly happy to spend a day relaxing with a book in front of the fire!
Matt and Laura were incredibly helpful and welcoming, for someone who does not know the area, they are perfectly happy to provide you with plenty of information of what is around (shopping, eating out, days out etc.).
This was a wonderful, tranquil retreat which I would definitely recommend to anyone. I will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: It was so quiet, I could hear my own thoughts far too much!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review, we're delighted that you loved The Old Shippon. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue P
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“We loved it and will be back!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

This is a lovely cottage that is cosy and well equipped, and so pretty too. As the previous reviewer has said there are all the facilities you could think of to make your stay at The Shippon faultless. The welcome pack and basket were a lovely touch and we are now converts to Saffron bread! After each day out on the Moor we can back and lit a fire to make the most of our comfy sitting room, we then ventured out each evening to a local pub for something to eat. Matt and Laura gave us some good local tips on where to go for dinner so while we were there we sampled a couple of local pubs and an Indian takeaway. The two pubs served good quality pub grub, nothing fancy and very reasonable, the takeaway was good too, we even got a free bottle of drink thrown in. The purpose of our stay was to relax as well as getting into the great outdoors. Again Matt’s local knowledge helped us here, he gave us a selection of ideas for us to go walking over the moors. We did some excellent walking and cycling and even managed a trip to the local indoor climbing wall. When we weren’t feeling like exerting ourselves we spent a nice morning wondering around the garden around The Shippon, Matt and Laura explained their plans for the garden, which sound very interesting and innovative. So we now have the perfect excuse to go back, to see the finished gardens! Next time we come we will also be focussing on some outdoor climbing as well as more walking and cycling. The Shippon is in such a great location to go exploring around the gorgeous Devon countryside.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the interior.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Feb 2016
Hi Sue. Thank you for your lovely review! We are so pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay and the beautiful Devon countryside on our doorstep. We look forward to welcoming you back later this year and showing you how the garden has progressed.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emma W
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Charming rural retreat!”
Reviewed 1 February 2016 for a stay in January 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We were lucky enough to be the first guests to stay at the Old Shippon since it was taken over by Matt and Laura Jackson. It was a damp grey day but we were greeted by a lovely roaring fire in the sitting room, thoughtful touches like fresh milk in an old fashioned bottle and plenty of tea bags and some lavazza coffee pods ready to brew a welcoming hot drink. The living area and galleried bedroom are all open up to the rafters and add a real wow factor to this cosy cottage. We found the kitchen was well equipped with good quality pans and utensils and even had a dishwasher and washing machine, handy with children who liked to explore the muddy trails nearby! The furnishings are lovely, a slightly eclectic collection of pieces which just seem to go together perfectly with the style and history of the place. We have two young children (3 &1) and we found the set up worked well, with the children staying in the cosy downstairs bedroom meant we could enjoy the lounge and mezzanine bedroom once they were tucked up in bed. It’s difficult to find anything to complain about; the steps up to the master bedroom are a little steep and could be a hazard for younger children, but the owners had already thought of that, having kids of their own, and put a handy stair gate at the bottom to prevent little explorers getting up to mischief. Friendly host Matt Jackson is an expert gardener, and having had his book on biodynamic gardening recently published he is planning to develop the gardens and grounds of Kelly Mill into something that sounds quite spectacular. It will be hard to make them more idyllic than they already are, though! We wish him well and hope to go back in the warmer weather and enjoy exploring more of West Devon and Cornwall.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2016
Hi Tim! Thank you so much for your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to have you as our neighbours in The Old Shippon. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;