We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The big family Christmas”
other traveller has booked this property
Wooladon Estate - Wooladon House, The Rookery, Pheasant Barn and Gatherley View
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Wooladon Estate - Wooladon House, The Rookery, Pheasant Barn and Gatherley View
Wooladon House Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
5 reviews
Wooladon Estate - Wooladon House, The Rookery, Pheasant Barn and Gatherley View
Wooladon House
Kitchen
Breakfast room
The conservatory overlooking the enclosed garden
Lounge with stunning views over the countryside
Snooker Room
Master Bedroom
Master bedroom Ensuite
The Green Room
Children's Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
7 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Lifton, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SunScuba
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The big family Christmas”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We picked Wooladon House as we needed a large house for one final big family Christmas. It was tinged with sadness as my father did not last so we scattered his ashes with the Bude RNLI on Christmas Eve off Summerleaze beach. The house is fabulously spacious which allowed the many generations to have space for individual reflection, peace and quite as well as noisy mayhem. We had 15 stay comfortably, although the student complained about the sofa bed, but hey! students complain everything these days. The youngsters played Crash Bandicoot in the PlayStation room, while the oldies relived their youth on the pool table with champagne fuelled devilry. Even the merry widow played pool, and the Christmas charades were the best ever! The massive living room was a great place for family theatre, Lego building, Mario cart scalextrix, supersized TV for Sound of Music and all the xmas films and TV after dinner. We had the log fire going for that extra special xmas feeling, although we had to turn the radiators off as the house is very warm with hot water a plenty. Dishwasher was running night and day from all the food and drink, but if you are a large gathering like us you'll want to take along extra big cooking pans to cater for your favourite meals as the house pans aren't large enough. Similarly the dining table seats 12, so we took an extension so we could seat 15. Bedrooms all warm and cosy, most with en-suite, but could do with some softer pillows to give more choice. The nearby farm shop had our turkey and other provisions ready and does a great breakfast/brunch in their licensed dining rooms. Anything else we picked up from the Tesco in Launceston only 10 minutes away. It was possible to walk to Lifton for newspapers etc. in the morning, but the lane out the back was muddy in winter so easier to drive if only our blood alcohol level had allowed us.
All in all a great place for a big gathering of friends and family.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Dear SunScuba,
Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased that you all enjoyed your Christmas celebrations at Wooladon.
We do hope we will see you all again.
With kind regards
Adam and Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruth R
1 review
“5 Star Perfection!”
Reviewed 19 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We booked Wooladon House for a birthday party weekend and could not of asked for a better setting or location. With direct access off the A30 it's so easy to find and so accessible to local amenities and the sights of Devon and Cornwall. Everything was catered for and we had everything that we could have possibly needed. The owners live nearby and couldn't have been more accommodating. They have their very own Lifton Farm Shop and Restaurant just a stone throws away and this caters for all food needs and of course a hearty early morning breakfast. The house is luxury furnished to the highest standard with comfort a main factor. We cannot recommended Wooladon House enough to anyone who wants 5 star luxury in an idyllic setting. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2018
Dear Ruth R
Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Wooladon House.
We hope to see you again soon!
With kind regards
Adam and Laura
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hittheroa...
Surrey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Stunning large country house in beautiful surrroundings.”
Reviewed 13 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Wooladon House is an extremely spacious and very well appointed country house which is ideal for large families or groups of friends.
The house has been recently refurbished to a very high standard and we found all our needs catered for.
We travelled there with 6 children who loved the grounds around the property and enjoyed making friends with the llama's! We loved the main bedroom suite with it's dressing room and bathroom. We also loved the living space downstairs where the main dining room could cater for 12 people.
The property is very conveniently located for exploring the local attractions which include the local farm shop which supplies top quality local produce. We also visited Dingles Fairground Heritage Centre which is a 5 minute drive which the children(and adults) really enjoyed.
The local village has a number of pubs serving food and fishing on the many local rivers can also be arranged though the Arundell Arms Hotel.
The owners of the property were incredibly helpful and ensured our stay was perfect.
I can't recommend highly enough and we will definitely return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Feb 2018
Dear hittheroad77
Thank you for your kind review and we are so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. There is certainly plenty to do in the area and all within very easy reach from Wooladon. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Laura and Adam Mounce
Owners
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$2,809
/ Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing