We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing getaway that was fun for the kids”
other travellers have booked this property
Just 10 minutes from the renowned South West Coast Path
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Just 10 minutes from the renowned South West Coast Path
And half a dozen of the safest, cleanest beaches in the country Down a winding country lane, at the end of a secluded farm courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
44 reviews
Just 10 minutes from the renowned South West Coast Path
And half a dozen of the safest, cleanest beaches in the country
Down a winding country lane, at the end of a secluded farm courtyard
An unassuming exterior conceals an extraordinary transformation . . .
. . . of a 150-year-old barn into the coolest, funkiest, most stylish holiday home imaginable . . .
. . . designed to bring the outdoors in, and take the indoors out!
Upstairs, it's oak floors and sunlight, through roof, walls, and windows
While downstairs it's heated slate floors and eco-conscious LED lighting
Real shutters and 500-count Egyptian cotton ensure a blissful night's sleep (yes, that is a 6ft bed)
This luxurious family bathroom is the sort of place where days start and end well
Second bedroom comes with twin beds . . .
. . .or a super-kingsize – you decide!
And has its own stylish limestone bathroom with huge shower enclosure
Wherever you look, you're surrounded by green
Enjoy the comforts of home in our ergonomically optimized living area, snug whatever the weather
A compact but fully equipped kitchen puts you in control of those in-out dining decisions
There's a well stocked bookcase for rainy days
And a completely private and secluded garden terrace for the rest of the time
Paved steps run down to courtyard level and the front door
While a grassy path leads up past the dovecot to the orchard above
In the midst of so much high style it's easy to forget you're on a working smallholding
So don't miss out on your chance to get to know the locals
If petting the animals isn't your thing, how about a nice walk?
Or you could learn to surf at our nearby surf school
Sometimes all you want to do is just paddle around in the shallows
And while we can't guarantee spectacular sunsets, they are a feature of this part of the coast
Don't forget to come and see us soon!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 44 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Peter S
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing getaway that was fun for the kids”
Reviewed 6 May 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Echoing all the other great reviews we were impressed by so much that this place offered. Piers and Sue were very welcoming and helpful during our stay. The cottage is finished to a high standard, has a convenient layout and a warm ambience. The welcome pack of local produce was delicious! The farm itself is beautifully kept and our 2 year old daughter loved visiting the pigs, horses, chickens and sheep. The little country lanes can be interesting to negotiate at times but provide wonderful views and relatively easy access to the nearby beaches, villages and larger local towns. Cotmore Farm enabled us to enjoy a perfect mix of family time, local excursions and relaxing evenings by the fire.

Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
T5997LGto...
Bento Goncalves, RS
2 reviews
“Ideal Rural retreat - close to fantastic beaches”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

We stayed in Appletree Cottage. It was very comfortable, There were four of us (couple and two teenage sons), the cottage was big enough for everyone to have their own space and the kitchen, bathrooms etc were all modern and well equipped.
Piers and family were friendly and available with plenty of local advice but never overbearing, and there are certainly lots of things to do in the area for all types of traveller.
My only regret was not being able to use the barbecue, but I will have to go back later than March, and that the beds were too comfortable for early starts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohanEmil...
1 review
“Perfect holidays for the whole family”
Reviewed 17 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our family had a wonderful time in Appletree cottage. Piers gave us a really warm welcome and we all felt special there. You really feel at home. The cottage is really high standard and the fireplace is amazing. Piers was taking the kids for feeding pigs and for seeing the horses getting fitted with new shoes in the stables. There were couple of 2 days old lambs while we were there and the kids were checking on them every day. The activities are great. We have especially enjoyed the walks around the lighthouse and the crab fishing in Darmouth. The food is amazing and the local cheese were a really good surprise. The only point to make is that you do need a car to make the most of the sea side. We are definetly coming back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pipersacc...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Holiday Home”
Reviewed 17 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My husband, Myself, our Son (nearly 3) and FiFi the dog have just returned from a lovely stay in Appletree Cottage.
Great accomodation in a rural setting with easy access to great beeches and towns!
Such a lovely touch to have a hamper of local produce to start the holiday off, the best egg yolks ever!! Be sure to purchase some of Piers' sausages and bacon, and make sure you take plenty home, Yum!!
Downsides are no WIFI, but really this is a good thing(or so I kept telling myself).
No quick easy off road walks for dog from property, and toilet duties to be done on lead (if you have a chicken savage of a dog) as no contained area!
Apparently it is MUCH cheaper if you DON'T book through AirBnB! Research!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: acommodation
Liked least: lack of WIFI! No enclosed garden!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M H
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relaxing Escape”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015

My husband, dog and I visited Appletree Cottage for Christmas. We were hoping for a peaceful escape from the city during which we could explore the surrounding countryside then hide away in the cottage to relax. Cotmore did not disappoint.

Our first meeting with Piers and his family was on the night of our arrival when they very kindly helped push our car out of the ditch we had reversed into. Not how we planned to start our holiday, but clearly neither was it theirs because they came to our aid instantly and without complaint. We were mortified and profusely apologetic and they were very gracious.

The cottage is newly renovated and feels fresh and very clean. Everything worked perfectly and we felt very much at home from the start. There was a delicious tray of local produce waiting for us and even a Christmas tree complete with lights and decorations !

We were left to our own devices and felt we had our own space despite the fact it is a small, working farm and there were other guests in a nearby cottage. The terrace for the cottage is very private and we would have certainly used it in warmer weather. We enjoyed meeting the pigs, dog, chickens, sheep and horses. We sampled the sausages and bacon too: both of which delicious.

It is a well-placed base for exploring the countryside nearby. The coast is in walking distance (perhaps 20-30 minutes) and we enjoyed exploring daily. One obviously needs a car to reach the farm, but once you are there is it possible to remain on foot if you are prepared to walk a couple of miles to the pub and back !

All-in-all : 3 very satisfied customers.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$147
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing