We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A wonderful stay at Woodpecker barn”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Woodpecker Barn

Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Devon slate house sign Lounge area with doors to patio
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
28 reviews
Welcome to Woodpecker Barn
Devon slate house sign
Lounge area with doors to patio
Dining area and kitchen
Kitchen area
Kitchen
Main bedroom with double bed
Second bedroom with king size bed and a single bed
Bathroom
Double doors lead on to private patio
Teak table and chairs for 'al fresco' dining
The courtyard garden which is shared by our three cottages
Summer rambling roses outside Woodpecker Barn
Children's playground in our field just opposite the cottage
The alpacas in our field are as Interested in our guests...as they are in the alpacas
Our chickens who lay your fresh eggs
Local walk along the River Avon Valley
Bantham beach - great for families
Bantham estuary - fantastic walks
Reflections of Burgh Island
Walk along the estuary near Aveton Gifford
Dartmouth harbour - a beautiful town to visit - and maybe take a boat trip
Stormy seas and rainbow over South Milton Sands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Kingsbridge, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 28 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Martyn R
1 review
“A wonderful stay at Woodpecker barn”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Thank you to Judy & Mike for helping to make our stay at Woodpecker Barn so enjoyable..We particularly liked the cream tea and fresh eggs, which were awaiting our arrival.
Woodpecker Barn is ideally situated for the clean and quiet local beaches at Slapton Sands and Bantham and both are approximately 20 minutes drive,
The peace and quiet and comfortable surroundings are ideal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable surroundings as well as the cream tea and fresh eggs left for our arrival.
Liked least: not applicable
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ajay K
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Judy and Mike are very friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed being their guests for the week. Woodpecker Barn is really relaxing place to stay. Fresh eggs from the local hens were on tap, the local alpackers were an interesting curiosity but sitting underneath all the stars of a clear Devon sky was the highlight of the week for me.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rubylou35...
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Another triumph for Higher Hendham Cottages”
Reviewed 9 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Once again the quilting group have enjoyed a week of indulgence ,Wonderfully warm and comfortable a fantastic welcome from Judy and Mike who set up everything we need for our sewing plus lots of goodies including fresh eggs from their chickens and home made bread ,a real treat.Highly recommend the cottages for groups ,this area would be wonderful for artists with such beautiful surroundings .The gardens and children's play area are well thought out and each time we come there is something new to see .Aready thinking about a project for our next trip!!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
606benr
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place is fantastic”
Reviewed 5 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We traveled here with friends just after Christmas and stayed over into the new year. It worked out best for us all to rent a couple of cottages for the stay, our family stayed in Woodpecker Barn and from the moment we arrived, we were all impressed on how clean and tidy the cottages were, an absolute gem of a find for us. Mike and Judy have done an excellent job in making us all feel comfortable and the welcome pack on arrival was outstanding. Homemade bread, eggs, jam, scones along with clotted cream, milk and biscuits were amazing. They also knocked on our door on new years evening and gave us a couple of bottles of Prosecco to see in the new year with, we've done quite a few post -xmas getaways and can state that this has been the best place we stayed so far. The children had a brilliant time feeding the chickens, collecting eggs and playing in the play area. This isn't a tatty piece of garden set aside, it has been done very tastefully and thought has gone into this play area. As for the location, its set in a very quiet and peaceful part of Devon. Directions to the cottages were clear and concise and we had no problems finding the barns. The roads around the area are tight and small so be careful when driving! As with the South Hams there are great places to explore so we will definitely be heading back to Higher Hendham later this year, the kids haven't stopped talking about the activities since we came back. Thanks Mike and Judy for a great stay, we felt very welcome and look forward to seeing you again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
matt m
1 review
“Great place”
Reviewed 3 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed 6 days at Woodpecker Barn with our 2 children aged 4 and 2 years olds. The Barn is really well equipped, modern yet very comfortable and very well kept and cleaned. Great to have a welcome pack on arrival with eggs, milk and cakes etc. The kids loved the Chickens and Alpacas on the farm. Check out the Aquarium in Plymouth and definitely try Paignton Zoo if you are down that way.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing