We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location”
other travellers have booked this property
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
Windover Farm Cottage, with ample gravelled parking area and wooden gates to the rear of the cottage
the comfy sitting room with inglenook and woodburner
view from the front door
I am very keen on cooking and therefore you'll find a well equipped and practical kitchen in the cot
wellies by the back door
pigs at Windovers
Beer beach around 30 minutes drive from the cottage
you are welcome to look after the hens collect their eggs and enjoy eating them (the eggs, that is)
are whole area is great for walking and enjoying the countryside - walking books and maps are suppli
Rush hour!
views across the farmland to Dunkeswell Abbey
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hemyock, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
daisyflow...
derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful cottage in an idyllic location”
Reviewed 2 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Beautiful cottage fully equipped with all you could possibly need. Sarah and her family make you most welcome and are always there should you need anything and there is gorgeous cake and sausages to welcome you on arrival.

The cottage is situated in the most idyllic location, perfect to get away from the hassle and bustle of daily life and relax in peace with beautiful views of the countryside although only about a 20 minute drive to the nearest seaside town of Beer and about 40 minutes from Lyme Regis.

It is close to the pretty town of Honiton and you must ask Sarah or Saemus for directions to Otter Vally Dairy where you can get the best ice cream outside of Italy.

We would highly recommend this cottage to anyone looking for a peaceful getaway, we return each year for a rest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RachelH73...
Winchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A magical country cottage that won't disappoint”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Having read the reviews and viewed the website we made a last minute booking to stay over New Year. The process was simple and the confirmation email contained useful info and easy to follow directions. The cottage more than met our expectations and the photographs really don't do it justice. We arrived on a frosty day to find the log burner laid, the Christmas Tree still decorated, home produced eggs and sausages in the fridge and the most scrummy cake waiting to be devoured. The owner, Sarah,was warm and welcoming, attentive without being intrusive. The girls adored having their own chickens to care for, as well as making friends with the two pigs, ducks and geese. The birds on the feeders were plentiful this time of year and our id skills have improved greatly following numerous games of " bird bingo"! When we did manage to persuade the girls to come inside there were plenty of toys, books and DVD 's to entertain them. We did find a DVD was missing from it's case, this was mentioned to Sarah and a replacement appeared by the end of the day. All this activity meant that the girls slept like logs, allowing us some much appreciated grown up time. We treated ourselves to a great takeaway curry, delivered by the nearby Viceroy. We also ventured into nearby Hemyock for dinner at the Catherine Wheel, also very good. We could happily have spent all our time in the immediate vicinity but we made the half hour car journey to Sidmouth and the nearby Donkey Sanctuary which the girls loved.
All in all we had a magical, memorable holiday and can't wait to visit again to experience Windover in the summer.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cottage was just the perfect retreat
Liked least: Would like to have stayed longer
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael H
Carmarthen
Level 6 Contributor
476 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Nice cottage but a few problems”
Reviewed 29 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

We chose the cottage on the basis of the associated website and were delighted with the accuracy of the information. We went for a quiet Christmas in a cosy cottage located in a rural setting and this is exactly what we got. Given the season and the lack of family we did not avail ourselves of the other attractions of the cottage providing a safe playing area for children and the opportunity to interact with farm animals. The cottage has many fine ornaments and pictures to which was added a decorated Christmas Tree and fireplace lights. There are plentiful DVDs, books and games for time indoors and the outdoor furniture would make a great place to spend a summer day and enjoy the view.

Given the above it may seem strange that the given score is average but there were just too many problems during our visit to evaluate higher. A lack of towels on arrival. The smoking oven that required cleaning. The total failure of the main oven on Christmas Day. The handle falling off the wood burning stove. All were overcome one way or another but prevention would have been better rather than cure! Given the purpose of these reviews is to share our experience we have evaluated average. Without such problems we would have joined others with an excellent.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Problems with oven
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Jan 2015
Dear Michael,
Thankyou very much for taking the time to write a review. Your positive comments are much appreciated. We try very hard to ensure that the website and photos truly reflect the cottage. I also update the furnishings regularly as around 33% of visitors are returning guests who like to see subtle changes from one visit to the next.
It was very unfortunate that several things were amiss at the time of your visit and I’m sorry that this happened. Up until now, I’ve only had one full set of towels for the cottage which are washed and dried on changeover days. I’m afraid the system broke down when you arrived and several were absent. To ensure this doesn’t happen again, I have purchased two new full sets of towels so that we now have a spare set to keep in the airing cupboard. This should avoid any towel shortages in the future, but once more I’m sorry that there weren’t enough on your arrival day.

With regard to the oven, it was of course terrible timing for it to not work on Christmas Day. We have since called out an appliance engineer who has given the oven a full MOT. He confirmed that it is working fine and couldn’t explain why the main oven failed you on Christmas day (you mentioned it had worked perfectly up until Christmas Day, and again after). His only suggestion is that there may have been an issue with the door, so has tightened the fixings to be sure. However, this was of course extremely frustrating for you; please accept my apologies.

The oven is cleaned on changeover days and once a year it is professionally cleaned. After your experience with the oven smoking, I have brought the professional clean forward a few months and now the cooker, inside and out, looks like new once more.

Finally, apologies too for the handle falling off the woodburner. This was extremely bad timing given the other problems you experienced; the pin holding it in place had sheared off. A new pin has now been fitted so this is working fine once more.

On the matter of light bulbs, there used to be a good supply in the utility room but this seems to have dwindled lately; as most were fitted at the same time it does occasionally happen that several go at once, so I have now restocked the spares basket.

I am very sorry that your enjoyment of Windover Farm Cottage was dampened by these experiences. I have now taken the necessary steps to rectify these issues and would be delighted to welcome you both back in future. I will be sending you a discount voucher for your next break and thankyou once more for your feedback.
Kind regards
Sarah Machin
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samanne25
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage in beautiful surroundings”
Reviewed 29 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is a gorgeous cottage with everything you could need for your stay, including toys etc for little ones. The area is lovely with plenty to do locally. The chickens kept us amused all week, and our son enjoyed visiting the pigs. All in all a great place to holiday and we cannot recommend highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
anitag715
Seaford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A real 'home from home' in the beautiful Devon countryside.”
Reviewed 20 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Book a holiday at Windover Farm Cottage and you’ll find everything promised on the website, and more.
The cottage is situated in a most peaceful setting and is a real ‘home from home’, with everything needed for a comfortable stay.
Sarah made us feel most welcome, and had very kindly unpacked our grocery delivery before we arrived. This meant we only had to make a cup of tea before tucking into the enormous homemade Victoria sponge she had left for us.
We really enjoyed looking after the chickens and relaxing in such peaceful surroundings, and were spoilt for choice when deciding where to go for days out.
We can’t recommend the cottage highly enough, and will certainly be back for another visit.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing