We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect Mini-Moon!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Honeymoon Cottage

Moorland View Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Moorland View Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
Moorland View Cottage
The sandy beaches of the South Hams are a 50-minute drive away.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AgapeLove...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Mini-Moon!”
Reviewed 8 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We booked Moorland View Cottage for our mini-moon and are already planning to return!
The cottage is absolutely beautiful, every detail thought out and presented to a very high standard.
Most communication with Suzy was by email and she was very prompt which was great.
When we arrived at the cottage the heating was on and the lights were on dim which was so cosy and inviting. There was also a bottle of wine some olives and a card on the dining table. Such a lovely personal touch.
We cannot fault a thing. The slipper bath and log fire are amazing!
The welcome pack is a great help and the guest passes for Bovey Castle are a great bonus.
The local area is really quiet and so beautiful. A car is definitely needed to get around although the narrow country lanes are a challenge.
Moorland View is a luxury cottage with a home from home personal feel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ladyphill...
Buckingham
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful!”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Beautiful cottage in a beautiful idyllic village! When we arrived we were met by Suzy's lovely housekeeper who was very friendly and helpful. My husband spoke to Suzy before arrival who was also friendly and helpful ! Suzy has exquisite taste and her attention to detail throughout the cottage is incredible. We had the most lovely relaxing stay and would definitely love to return one day !
Kind Regards
Andy and Philippa. xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattkes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My wife and I went to the cottage for our honeymoon and it really is fantastic and completely perfect. Suzy provided everything we could have needed for our stay including a lovely binder with a comprehensive list of things to do during our stay. The property is immaculate and well fitted with high quality fixtures and fitting. Very disappointed at the end of our stay and did not want to leave. Will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beach1970
Barnsley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fabulous!”
Reviewed 9 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My husband and I spent the first week of married life together at Moorland View and we could'nt have asked for a more perfect place. The cottage is a beautiful 'chocolate box' both inside and out. From the minute we arrived and opened the front door everything was perfect from the bottle of wine and delicious olives, fresh bread and scones waiting for us, the beauthiful furnishings throughout the cottage, the fabulous 'tub' for two, sonos music system, luxurious smellies, fluffy robes and slippers, oh and the wellington boots too!. The cottage garden was beautiful both in the rain as we looked out from the window seat and also in the sun as we laid on the loungers listening to the birds tweet and the sound of the local church bells. If you are looking for a romantic luxury retreat in peace, quiet and tranquil surroundings then Moorland View cannot be beaten.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stella P
Clevedon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Think I have found the relaxation zone. After a small blip of not being able to gain entry as the door code had been changed - made ourselves at home in this fabulous cottage. Can only repeat what gap has been said before - garden amazing - a real sun trap & wanted for nothing during our stay. Lovely stroll by the river to Bovey Castle & a cycle over Dartmoor to blow away the cobwebs. Lovely interior with every thing you could want for provided - would recommend the starter pack. Hope to return again one day

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing