We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cosy,comfortable and quiet”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Stable Cottage

The cottage and garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The cottage and garden
Stable Cottage and duck pond The verandah
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
The cottage and garden
Stable Cottage and duck pond
The verandah
The living room
The kitchen area
The bedroom
King sized bed
The bathroom
Free logs stacked nearby
View of the farm from King Tor
View from the cottage
View from the cottage
Enjoying the River Dart
The farm in the snow
King Tor from the farm
The duck pond
The hens!
The lane to the moor, abundant wildflowers
The farmhouse
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
North Bovey, Dartmoor National Park, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
louloubel...
Liskeard, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy,comfortable and quiet”
Reviewed 22 April 2018 for a stay in April 2018

Ideal for what I needed. Fire was great,cosy cottage and I had a few lovely days exploring parts of the Moor new to me.bread,eggs and milk a lovely touch.will be back!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
countrygi...
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“country retreat”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely quiet cottage, gorgeous walks straight from the front door. Dogs has a wonderful time as well as us.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K31thw
Oxfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“What a fabulous cottage!”
Reviewed 22 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

What a brilliant place to stay on Dartmoor. Just the three rooms, but you really don't need any more. The door opens onto a snug living room with a well equipped kitchen area (gas cooker, electric kettle, toaster, fridge), a dining table with 2 chairs, an armchair and a 2 seater sofa. Also has a TV and DVD player. A number of books/DVDs are also provided. There is an electric radiator but also a log burner; logs, kindling and fire lighters were all supplied. Next door is a comfy double bed with electric blanket (it can get chilly), a chest of drawers, a wardrobe, bedside tables and lights. Finally a bathroom with overhead shower.
Outside was a vine laden veranda (with a fabulous view of Easdon Tor) and a great garden with a duck pond - and ducks! Other wildlife encountered were chickens and guinea fowl. Finally there was Max and Annie, the owners' dogs (actually there were also a couple of horses but they were always in the stables so I never said hello to them).
The cottage is reached along narrow lanes, which provides good practice for many of the road on/around Dartmoor. Very rural and very relaxing.
The owners are really helpful and came up with suggestions as to walks suitable for a mobility scooter. For the fit and able there are walks from the farm.
We enjoyed our week so much (despite the Dartmoor weather being particularly wet) that the first thing we did on returning home was to book a week next year.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Sep 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, so glad you are coming again next year.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
K6521OSsa...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect cosy cottage in a peaceful location”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We had a wonderful week in this cottage. It is very well equipped and comfortable and we have already booked again for next year. There is a log burner and even an electric blanket on the bed! The veranda means you can sit outside whatever the weather and admire the view. The garden is beautiful and we were entertained by ducks, chickens and guinea fowl. The owners are very friendly and helpful. It is the best holiday rental we have had.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2017
Thank you so much we are delighted that you have booked for next year and look forward to seeing you again. Thank you for leaving the cottage so beautifully clean and tidy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alanjt602
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Easy Moments”
Reviewed 30 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Stable Cottage is the perfect retreat. Just what we needed to really get away from it all. We loved eating our meals out on the veranda and then sitting watching the ducks and their antics on the lawn. The cottage itself was comfortable and cosy and a delight to stay in. Susie and James were excellent. We just didn't want to leave! We will definitely be back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review, we loved having you to stay and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;