We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Unbeatable location”
other travellers have booked this property
'Foll Rise' Bigbury-on-Sea, South Devon.  'The Garden Apartment' Right Ground Floor.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'Foll Rise' Bigbury-on-Sea, South Devon.  'The Garden Apartment' Right Ground Floor.
Large landscaped garden a blaze of colour from Spring to Autumn. Ideal for children to play in. Breath taking uninterrupted view of  acres of safe sandy Beach and Coastline from 'Folly Rise'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
'Foll Rise' Bigbury-on-Sea, South Devon.  'The Garden Apartment' Right Ground Floor.
Large landscaped garden a blaze of colour from Spring to Autumn. Ideal for children to play in.
Breath taking uninterrupted view of  acres of safe sandy Beach and Coastline from 'Folly Rise'.
View of Folly Rise and The Garden Apartment from National Trust property, Clematon Hill opposite.
View of Burgh Island
Pilchard Inn c1336 on Burgh Island
Apartment's Own private terrace leading out to large secure garden with path to beach just 3 mi
Living Room
Dining Area
Homemade Devonshire Cream Tea/Bottle of wine and goodie bags for children.
Seaviews from master bedroom
Garden views from twin room
Burgh Island Hotel
Acres of uncrowded, safe sandy beach.
Sun down behind Burgh Island
Looking West along the Coast
Endless beautiful sunsets and sunrises.
The Sea Tractor leaving mainland for Burgh Island with the tide coming in.
Our Guests hurrying back from the Island before the waters meet.
Early morning walk , just the two of us.
Front row seat for Burgh Island Fireworks.
Moonlight on Bigbury Bay from the Garden Apartment.
Acres of safe sandy beach just 3 mins walk through the garden at 'Folly Rise'.
Rainbow over Bigbury-on-Sea.
Thatched boathouse up the tidal Avon Estuary opposite ' Folly Rise' by Guest Stephen Entwi
Something to celebrate.  Enjoy our compimentary bottle of wine.
The evocative Avon Estuary 'Stakes Road' accessable at low tide, with its myriad wildlife.
Sedgewell Sands at low tide. Just 3 mins across from The Garden Apartment.
Guests Mark & Cheryl off to wine,dine and dance at 'Burgh Island Hotel'
Our young Guests Mark & Cheryl enjoying their romantic evening on Burgh Island.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Bigbury-on-Sea, Devon, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Margaret...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unbeatable location”
Reviewed 6 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Very warm welcome with superb cream on arrival. Clean and comfortable accommodation with unsurpassable views. Would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2016
It was a pleasure to welcome Margaret & Bernard, who whilst having holidayed in Bigbury-on-Sea for the past 6 years, this is the first time they have stayed with us in "The Garden Apartment". We're very much hoping we shall have the opportunity of meeting their Grandchildren as Margaret felt they'd love it being so close to the beach.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonypears...
Lymington, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Location, Sea views,warm welcome, truely the best.”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Granny, Grandad, daughter and 2year old grandson stayed here for a week. The sandy beach just a few steps from apartment, fantastic places to see and eat nearby and the warmest welcome from Gill, l felt l have known her for years!. Children would love Folly Rise and we will be back another year. Thankyou Gill.

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jul 2016
It's such a pleasure to see the three generations come together and spend that 'special time' with us here in "The Garden Apartment" at "Folly Rise" in Bigbury-on-Sea. Family holidays are all about that, FAMILY, which is what we all work for and we are privileged to see the love, joy and pleasure that brings. This delightful Family epitomized that and it was an unexpected bonus for us that this family came from Henley and we shared common friends and aqaintenancies!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
70nikkih
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic week with a great view”
Reviewed 12 June 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Had a brilliant week at The Garden Apartment. Gill looked after us really well - cream tea, and wine when we arrived! Beach stuff and wetsuits for the kids - and goody bags too! The apartment is in a great location and had everything we wanted with lovely views out over the bay and 2 minutes walk down to the beach. Nice spacious garden for sitting outside or kids to play. The weather was fab too - we all had a great time and looking forward to a return visit soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
It was lovely to learn that Bigbury-on-Sea left a lasting memory with Nikki, Chris & 2 year old Heather some 12 years ago so that they wanted to return, this time bringing 10 year old Izzy. I was delighted to welcome them to "The Garden Apartment", especially as they really enjoyed the beach being just 3 minutes away, leaving "Folly Rise" for only a day and a half during their stay with us. Chris certainly was kept busy with games of badminton in the garden! I hope they will join our core of loyal returning Guests in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Janey H
Epsom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
2
people found this review helpful

We had the most amazing week here. From being greeted on arrival with a delicious afternoon tea (including smoked salmon sandwiches!) after a long journey from London, to the incredible sea views that were mesmerising from the lounge window, this place is perfect for a quiet get-away retreat. The beach is a 2 minute walk away, and the landlady who lives upstairs is utterly charming. She's on-hand for any help whatsoever, whenever, but remains completely non-intrusive otherwise. She's so wonderful we chose to share an evening of drinks and nibbles with her, which was a highlight of the week! We will definitely be going back. Incredible value for money, and the perfect location for a wonderful holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sea views
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2016
Thank you Janey for your kind words. It was my pleasure to welcome you , Johnathan and your delightful Parents Teresa & Tony to "Folly Rise". I enjoyed our fascinating evening together hearing all about your careers and varied travels and also learning about Teresa & Tony's delightful Holiday Home in the Cotswolds. One is always glad to benefit from the experience of colleagues in the holiday business. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you all back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KDBristol
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“What an amazing find”
Reviewed 25 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

What can I say, an amazing find. A little piece of Devon heaven. Situated in beautiful gardens overlooking the sea and beach you will find it hard to get a better spot to relax and take a break. The views are amazing and the apartment very spacious and very well equipped inside and out. The cream tea on arrival and bottle of wine in the fridge we're lovely touches and got my break off to a great start. Highly recommended!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The little extra touches like garden sun beds and the beautiful gardens and views
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Jun 2015
Katherine cut quite a dash when she arrived in her smart sports car and added a touch of glamour in her bikini as she sunbathed in glorious sunshine on the Garden Apartment's private grass terrace. Seeking a break away from her high powered but sometimes stressful job, I believe she found the peace and quiet she needed to restore her well being - it was a pleasure to see completely relax. We look forward to welcoming her again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing