We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idylic Autumn getaway”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stream runs through garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Stream runs through garden
Double Room
Twin Room
Utility room with washing machine
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Knock, County Mayo, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Gareth H
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idylic Autumn getaway”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I will firstly apologise to Lynda, as this review has been a long time coming!

I cannot describe in words the cottage and the location - it has to be seen and experienced to be believed. All I can say is that the cottage is magical, it is a location that is a home away from home, and boy did I feel at home there.

It was a lovely Autumn weekend that my partner & I stayed at the cottage, being a short holiday for the pair of us - but respite for me. Katarina, made sure that we were enjoying our stay via text message; which is a really lovely touch.

Where the cottage is situated is at the end of the lane, and you just feel that you are at the edge of the world as it is so peaceful. All that I can say is that whatever I expected of the cottage it was given to me and more!

We both enjoyed our stay and will return, as it fulfilled everything that we were looking for and more. I came back home a different person and that as I keep saying is the magic that the cottage holds.

Thank you Lynda for giving me and my sparkle back x

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtownards, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
leeleecla...
Lisburn, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“little bit off Heaven on earth”
Reviewed 5 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I have no words to explain how beautiful this place is it's totally magical. Lynda was total gem and loved my two dogs who wanted to be with her more than me lol I would highly highly recommend this place might be a little bit out of the way but it is so worth it. Arrived to a lovely table off scones and tea and Lynda was always on hand to help made a friend in a place that is so isolated but amazing.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The isolation of the property the magical feeling you get the peace and quiet
Liked least: No wifi
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montanagi...
Conrad, Montana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Quintessential Irish Experience!”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Imagine my delight upon entering the yard and finding the cottage of my dreams! It felt like I had walked into one of the scenes from the Irish novels I am so fond of. The décor is something which could be featured in "Country Living" magazine down to the last detail. A cozy stove, the table laid to tea including the best soda bread in Ireland, a country lane to walk, everything my heart could desire!!! Even when the weather was inclement, the cottage was a haven from the elements, allowing me time to sit next to the stove, catch up on my reading, and drink even more tea (of course). It seemed far off the beaten path at first but is very conveniently located to the town of Knock, Claremorris, and Ballyhaunis. Lynda the owner was staying in the main house and I enjoyed sharing a cup of tea on several occasions and learning more about the cottage. Catherina (the baker of the wonderful bread) shared her dog, Ben. He and I had many lovely walks together. I would recommend this cottage if you want to have a fabulous Irish experience, peace and quiet, and a great base location for touring the surrounding areas.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The ambience and feel of the place and the area.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane Y
County Londonderry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Peace and solace”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Highly recommend this beautiful peaceful place to get away from the hussle and bustle of everyday life... All your needs can be met in this beautifully renovated cottage.. Whilst your emotional solace and relaxing can be met in the peaceful surroundings.. Totally recommend .. Ssssh don't tell anyone x

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
What a lovely review, thanks so much! Lynda
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing