We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful cottage with enormously friendly host...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of 223- Cashel

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
3 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Cashel, County Galway, Western Ireland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 3 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
thenorthw...
Brugg, Switzerland
1 review
“Wonderful cottage with enormously friendly host family”
Reviewed 5 August 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The cottage itself is in a beautiful location just by the ocean. It is well furnished and lies right in the wonderful area of Connemara. We've been to Ireland many times before but this time with our two boys (4 years and 10 months old) which means it was perfect in terms of activities and retreat possibilities. Though it is remote it has WiFi access which means that if you like to stay connected to the world like myself then you're fine. There's a nearby beach which is also very child-friendly but also great for adults without children.

The host are in one word simply fantastic. We had troubles getting a rental car and they picked us up in Galway and drove us to the cottage. Noreen and Brendan lent us not only a high chair for our younger son but also a buggy as well as a cot for the entire stay. We were even given vegetables from their own garden which we enjoyed greatly. Needles to say they were also there to give advice about the area and helped me a great deal in organizing my rental car. I am always amazed about the hospitality of the Irish people and both Brendan and Noreen are the best example.

If you don't mind driving around in Connemara (which I don't because it's honestly beautiful) and love a quiet but beautiful location with great hosts you're in the right place here. We also recommend it for families with kids - but you need to be on your toes about what they are doing as the ocean is very close by. :)

Thank you, Noreen and Brendan, for your hospitality.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2017
Thank you for your review and we are delighted to hear you enjoyed your holiday. We hope that Shamrock Cottages can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattie v
1 review
“Very nice retreat!”
Reviewed 21 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The cottage, though slightly remote, was perfect for us! (Had the weather been a littlebit better it would have been perfecter ;) ) But had lots of strolls along the beach, did some walks, visited Clifden and Galway, ate lovely seafood, found lots of shells and saw the seals nearly every day! (bring your binoculars!)
The cottage has everything you need. Very cosy and comfortable!
And the views are magnificent!
Noreen and Brandon are great hosts and make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible! Thank you!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review, which is much appreciated by Shamrock Cottages and we do hope we can be of assistance again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anne L
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Relaxing cottage”
Reviewed 19 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We stayed in this cottage for 1 week. the owners were there to meet us and were very pleasant and friendly. (Mr O'Sullivan was waiting outside to meet us on the road to the house.)Gave us lots of tips and information to make our stay more pleasant and enjoyable. They really made us feel like friends of the family. The cottage was clean and well appointed, and I would stay there again an recommend it to friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Feelgood factor from owners attitude to having people to stay was like visiting friends
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing