We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
A wonder of engineering sitting on the Mizen Peninsula

At the very edge of Cork county and overlooking the atlantic see is this spectacular station, What... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
WaterfordANDme
,
Waterford, Ireland
Good View.. Long Drive

The view of the ocean from here was very good. It was a very long drive to get here, but being at... read more

Reviewed 10 December 2018
Dale F
,
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Read all 186 reviews
  
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveller rating
136
41
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
136
41
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews across the bridge beautiful cliffs main path wild atlantic way visitor center on the rocks barleycove beach well worth the effort beautiful sunny day saw seals lovely drive southern ireland amazing experience southernmost point ticket office per adult worth a trip
Filter
Updating list...
33 - 38 of 186 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

Very well maintained and plenty of information available so worth the €25 for a family of four. Lovely walk but not too far, well sign posted. We spent a couple of hours here but it was at a very leisurable pace. The views are stunning and the colour of the water was beautiful. We had a very relaxing time.

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank StarArt17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

You can’t come to the region and not go here!! A little bit of walking but well set out and signposted. Worth going even if you take it slow!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank rebeccaguerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

Admittedly it was a Sunday in early December but we had done our homework and checked that the centre was open. The website was clear - open today. We travelled the 40 odd miles from Baltimore and into the sea mist arriving, with another group, to find the place locked up and deserted. Not a sign or notice to say, back shortly, open soon or even, 'go away'!

This was most disappointing as we had made a special effort to take friends from Australia to what we think is a special place. Our only mistake was that we should have phoned ahead. On our way back we passed through Goleen and there was a visitor centre that was open so we called in and the staff there said, "Closed today, weekends close to Christmas they don't always bother." Not the best is it? - but it's a lesson to all - Make sure the place is going to be open. If you can get there it is fantastic but, as you can tell, we we're really disappointed.

Date of experience: December 2017
1  Thank MikeC2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Spectacular views with a breath taking bridge to cross. Difficult and narrow roads to get to this fantastic location but worth the effort.

Totally recommended

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank 784donalh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017 via mobile

My wife and I drove to Mizen Head from Bantry in September. Beautiful drive. We got the feeling Mizen Head is not particularly well known in Ireland. Maybe because it’s about an hour off the main roads. Whatever the reason we were so happy we made the effort. The coastal views were the best we saw in Ireland. It was almost entirely fogged in when we arrived but decided to buy our tickets anyway. Within maybe 30 minutes most of the fog had lifted and we were treated to spectacular scenery. It was also nice that we were the only people there for the first hour. The visitor centre was well done with a small snack bar (with very good pastries!). Expect to spend two hours here. Don’t forget your camera!!!

Date of experience: September 2017
1  Thank TheOakvillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews